Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/22/2024 01:15:56

Sponsor 743
March 29
La Salle Speedway,
La Salle, IL
Sanction: Sunoco American Late Model Series East (Thaw Brawl) - $15,000
Information provided by: Staff reports (last updated March 30, 11:48 am)
Erb survives, pockets $15,000 in Thaw Brawl
Thaw Brawl
  1. Dennis Erb Jr.
  2. Bobby Pierce
  3. Ryan Unzicker
  4. Scott Bloomquist
  5. Jason Riggs
  6. Billy Drake
  7. Matt Furman
  8. McKay Wenger
  9. Jason Jaggers
  10. Jason Feger
  11. Phil Ausra
  12. Brandon Thirlby
  13. Rusty Schlenk
  14. Rich Bell
  15. Brian Birkhofer
  16. Steve Dimmick
  17. Brian Shirley
  18. Kevin Weaver
  19. Jeep Van Wormer
  20. Scott Schmitt
  21. Devin Moran
  22. Chris Simpson
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Dennis Erb Jr. heads to a $15,000 victory at La Salle Speedway.
What won the race: Second-starting Dennis Erb Jr. broke out to the lead at the drop of the green flag and kept the field at bay for an attrition-filled 75 laps to score his second victory of 2014 on a cool, damp night.
Quotable: “It was good to have a good run at the beginning and start up front and be able to able to stay out of trouble and hit the holes the right way,” Erb said. “Thank God everything held together.”
Key notes: Erb's previous victory came during East Bay Raceway Park's Winternationals under the live TV cameras of MAVTV. ... Only five drivers finished on the lead lap. ... Polesitter Brian Shirley kept pace with Erb early before suffering mechanical issues and drawing a lap-19 caution. ... Fourth-place finisher Scott Bloomquist closed on Erb in the race's middle stages, but was slowed by the first of his two flat tires as he prepared to challenge for the lead. ... Brian Birkhofer, who won last year's Thaw Brawl main event, debuted a new Rocket Chassis after making the switch from MB Customs over the offseason; he retired after bringing out a caution midway through the main event and finished 15th. ... Devin Moran of Dresden, Ohio, made his first-ever start in Illinois; Moran won the consolation race after being caught up in a heat race accident, but called it quits early in the main event. ... Fast qualifier Kevin Weaver and heat winner Jeep Van Wormer were among others suffering mechanical breakdowns. ... The top three in each qualifying group were inverted for heat races. ... Nick Allen earned $1,500 in the UMP Modified portion of the program. ... The 3rd annual Thaw Brawl kicks off La Salle's season. Action continues Sunday afternoon with a $2,000-to-win event which was reset from Friday due to wet weather. Hot laps are scheduled for 2 p.m. with racing to follow at 3 p.m.
On the move: Bobby Pierce rallied from 19th to finish second.
Winner's sponsors: Erb's Rayburn Race Car is powered by a Kuntz & Co. engine with sponsorship from J.R. McBride Leasing, JL Scrap Metals, Ramirez Motorsports, Petersen Aluminum, Allstar Performance and Performance Rod & Custom.
Points chase: Erb takes the early ALMS points lead with his victory; he will not follow the series on a full-time basis.
Car count: 29
Fast qualifier: Kevin Weaver
Time: 12.319 seconds
Polesitter: Brian Shirley
Heat race winners: Ryan Unzicker, Dennis Erb Jr., Jeep Van Wormer, Brian Shirley
Consolation race winners: Devin Moran
Provisional starters: Brandon Thirlby, Phil Ausra
Next series race: April 12, Eldora Speedway (Rossburg, OH) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information