Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 04:39:46

Sponsor 743
May 25
Oakshade Raceway,
Wauseon, OH
Sanction: Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series (Barney Oldfield Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated May 27, 1:33 pm)
Last-lap pass gives Schlenk sixth Oldfield Memorial
Barney Oldfield Memorial
  1. Rusty Schlenk
  2. Casey Noonan
  3. Billy Green
  4. Rod Conley
  5. Devin Shiels
  6. Ryan Missler
  7. R.J. Conley
  8. Dusty Moore
  9. Colin Shipley
  10. Terry Rushlow
  11. Carter Murday
  12. Carter Schlenk
  13. Justin White
  14. Austin Lay
  15. Joe Smith
  16. Rob Anderzack
  17. Gregg Haskell
  18. Shane Bailey
  19. B.J. Gregory
  20. Seth Daniels
  21. Jake Rendel
  22. Rusty Smith
presented by
Michael Despain/Valvoline American Iron-Man Series
Rusty Schlenk celebrates his sixth career Barney Oldfield Memorial victory.
What won the race: Executing a textbook last-lap pass on race-long pacesetter Casey Noonan, third-starting Rusty Schlenk of McClure, Ohio, nipped Noonan at the line by a scant 0.149 of a second to win his sixth career Barney Oldfield Memorial at Oakshade Raceway. Schlenk secured his second career Valvoline American Late Model Iron-Man Series victory and his second $5,000 payday in as many nights after topping Friday's weekend opener at Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park.
Key notes: The pole-starting Noonan, of Sylvania, Ohio, led the opening 39 laps before finding himself mired in heavy lapped traffic in the late going, allowing Schlenk to slip by in the last set of corners. ... Devin Shiels, winner of 2022's Oldfield Memorial, advanced five positions and completed the top-five finishers. ... Colin Shipley gained five spots and placed ninth. ... The race's lone stoppage came on lap 24 when Carter Schlenk, Rusty's son, slowed to a stop in turn two. Carter rebounded to finish 12th. ... The event honored Barney Oldfield, the longtime Wauseon racing legend, pioneering competitor and two-time Indianapolis 500 starter. ... Saturday's 35th annual edition lasted 19 minutes.
On the move: Terry Rushlow of Holland, Ohio, started 18th and finished 10th.
Winner's sponsors: Schlenk’s Domination Race Car is powered by a Mullins Engine and sponsored by Buckeye Concrete Coatings, Terry Henricks Chrysler Dodge Jeep RAM, TriState Pole Barns, Tom Finch Automotive, VP Racing Fuels, VP Lubricants, Dominator Race Products, Landrum Performance Springs, KBC Graphix, Integra Shocks, Wilwood Disc Brakes, Willy's Carb & Dyno, Vahlco Racing Wheels, Velocita-USA, MAGA Lifts, XS Power, Allstar Performance, Zamp Racing, Micro-Armor, Chris Mapes C-N-T Services and Race-Fan.com.
Points chase: After Oakshade: 1. Rusty Schlenk (113); 2. Seth Daniels (103); 3. Ryan Missler (98); 4. Rod Conley (93); 5. Devin Shiels (88).
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 39
Fast qualifier: Ryan Missler
Time: 15.967 seconds
Polesitter: Casey Noonan
Heat race winners: Casey Noonan, Rusty Schlenk, Rod Conley, Billy Green
Consolation race winners: Carter Murday, Terry Rushlow
Provisional starters: Rob Anderzack, Justin White
Next series race: June 1, Atomic Speedway (Alma, OH) $5,000
Editor's note: Updates winner's sponsors.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Noonan, Rod Conley
Row 2: R. Schlenk, B. Green
Row 3: Missler, C. Schlenk
Row 4: Daniels, R.J. Conley
Row 5: R. Smith, D. Shiels
Row 6: Moore, A. Lay
Row 7: Bailey, Shipley
Row 8: J. Smith, Haskell
Row 9: Murday, Rushlow
Row 10: Gregory, Rendel
Row 11: Anderzack, J. White
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information