Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 06:19:48

Sponsor 743
May 25
Maquoketa Speedway,
Maquoketa, IA
Sanction: Malvern Bank East Series - $3,000
Information provided by: Mike Ruefer, series and track reports (last updated May 26, 5:28 am)
Kay conquers Maquoketa's Malvern East field
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Andy Eckrich
  3. Dylan Thornton
  4. Jeff Tharp
  5. Spencer Diercks
  6. Derrick Stewart
  7. Jason Hahne
  8. Luke Goedert
  9. Andrew Kosiski
  10. Chad Holladay
  11. Chris Spieker
  12. Darrel DeFrance
  13. Charlie McKenna
  14. Brad Mueller
  15. Fred Remley
  16. Dave Eckrich
  17. Matt Ryan
  18. Curt Schroeder
  19. Zach Less
  20. Curtis Glover
  21. Bryan Klein
  22. Nick Marolf
  23. Luke Pestka
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Justin Kay celebrates his first Malvern East Series victory of the season.
What won the race: Powering around the outside of mid-race leader Andy Eckrich, ninth-starting Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, led the final seven laps to win Friday's $3,000 Malvern Bank East Series stop at Maquoketa Speedway. Kay captured his first series victory of the season and the 10th of his career, further extending his lead on the tour's all-time win list.
Quotable: “(My crew chief) Tyson (Gheer) put his head into it after the heat race, we weren’t very good,” Kay said. “We got the car a lot better, it fit me better, the track was awesome. First half of the race, I was sitting back there around fifth or sixth, somewhere in there, watching .. this is fun! We could go anywhere, top, bottom and it was a good night.”
Key notes: The fifth-starting Eckrich, of Oxford, Iowa, remained committed to the low line and led laps 12-23 before giving way to Kay and finishing 1.215 seconds back. Eckrich's performance gives him an early advantage in the season-long standings. ... Dylan Thornton, winner of May 10's season opener at Stuart (Iowa) Speedway, led the opening 11 laps from the pole before slipping to finish third. ... Jason Hahne improved six spots and placed seventh. ... The race's lone caution flew on lap 13 when Luke Pestka spun from 16th and pulled off. ... The feature lasted 11 minutes, with 18 drivers completing the distance and 21 running at the checkers.
On the move: Andrew Kosiski of Omaha, Neb., started 17th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Kay’s MB Customs Race Car carries sponsorship from A&E Freight Service, Hoker Trucking, Wyffels Hybrids, Petersen Insurance, Kay Farms Elevator Trucking, Wetrs Machine & Racing Products, Wheatland Auto Body, Wyffels Hybrids, Hyperco, Dynamic Drivelines, Performance Bodies and Capital Race Decals.
Points chase: After Maquoketa: 1. Andy Eckrich (580); 2. Chad Holladay (570); 3. Jason Hahne (566); 4. Dylan Thornton (560); 5. Derrick Stewart (556).
Current weather: Clear, 68°F
Car count: 26
Fast qualifier: Derrick Stewart
Time: 14.139 seconds
Polesitter: Dylan Thornton
Heat race winners: Dylan Thornton, Chris Spieker, Jeff Tharp
Consolation race winners: Andrew Kosiski
Provisional starters: Darrel DeFrance, Curtis Glover, Curt Schroeder
Next series race: May 26, Dubuque Speedway (Dubuque, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Thornton, Tharp
Row 2: Spieker, Stewart
Row 3: A. Eckrich, Diercks
Row 4: Marolf, Mueller
Row 5: Kay, Goedert
Row 6: McKenna, Holladay
Row 7: Hahne, D. Eckrich
Row 8: Pestka, Ryan
Row 9: A. Kosiski, Remley
Row 10: Klein, Less
Row 11: DeFrance, Glover
Row 12: Schroeder
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information