Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Knoxville Raceway

Richards fastest of 59 qualifiers at Knoxville

September 27, 2007, 8:40 pm
From staff and track reports

KNOXVILLE, Iowa (Sept. 27) — Josh Richards of Shinnston, W.Va., was fastest among 59 qualifiers for the fourth annual Lucas Oil Knoxville Late Model Nationals at Knoxville Raceway. The 19-year-old Richards, a regular on the World of Outlaws Late Model Series, posted a time of 17.811 seconds on the half-mile oval in qualifying preceding the first of three nights of racing at Knoxville.

"We came here for the Outlaws race earlier this year, and really learned a lot," Richard said. The track is similar tonight as it was back then, and I think what we picked up that night kind of set the table for tonight. The track was typical Knoxville. Wet, hooked up, and you could really get around it without lifting much. It will be interesting to see what happens the rest of the night."

Fellow WoO driver Steve Francis of Ashland, Ky., was the second quickest qualifier followed by NASCAR star Ken Schrader of Fenton, Mo., Shannon Babb of Moweaqua, Ill., and Iowa native Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark.

Thursday's opening-night action continues with heat races, a C-main, B-Main and $6,000-to-win semifeature with points awarded for each event. The top 24 in points from Thursday night transfer to Saturday's feature. The same format, less time trials, is scheduled for Friday night with drivers getting the chance to improve their point standing. Saturday's 100-lap feature pays $35,000 to the winner.

Fourth annual Lucas Oil Knoxville Late Model Nationals time trials

Pos. Driver, hometown, time

1. Josh Richards, Shinnston, W.Va., 17.811
2. Steve Francis, Ashland, Ky., 17.817
3. Ken Schrader, Fenton, Mo., 17.834
4. Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, Ill., 17.844
5. Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark., 17.940
6. Wayne Chinn, Bradford, Ohio, 17.964
7. Chad Simpson, Mount Vernon, Iowa, 18.043
8. Darrell Lanigan, Union, Ky., 18.071
9. Matt Miller, Waterville, Ohio, 18.072
10. Darren Miller, Chadwick, Ill., 18.096
11. Donnie Moran, Dresden, Ohio, 18.105
12. Jimmy Mars, Menomonie, Wis., 18.171
13. Ryan Newman, Mooresville, N.C., 18.215
14. Brian Shirley, Chatham, Ill., 18.227
15. Denny Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa, 18.275
16. Steve Shaver, Vienna, W.Va., 18.286
17. Chris Madden, Gaffney, S.C., 18.297
18. Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, Tenn., 18.369
19. Matt Aukland, Fargo, N.D., 18.382
20. Brian Birkhofer, Muscatine, Iowa, 18.411
21. Chris Simpson, Marion, Iowa, 18.427
22. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 18.431
23. Terry Casey, New London, Wis., 18.433
24. Chris Smyser, Lancaster, Mo., 18.441
25. Brady Smith, Solon Springs, Wis., 18.446
26. Kerry Hansen, Spencer, Wis., 18.456
27. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis, Iowa, 18.469
28. Curt Martin, Independence, Iowa, 18.523
29. Eric Jacobsen, Santa Cruz, Calif., 18.525
30. Jacob Murray, Hartford, Iowa, 18.600
31. Billy Drake, Bloomington, Ill., 18.619
32. Randy Korte, Highland, Ill., 18.626
33. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, Iowa, 18.644
34. Jeep Van Wormer, Pinconning, Mich., 18.680
35. Dan Schlieper, Sullivan, Wis., 18.722
36. Andy Eckrich, Iowa City, Iowa, 18.755
37. Eddie Kirchoff, Gillette, Wyo., 18.756
38. Darin Duffy, Hazelton, Iowa, 18.801
39. Paul Glendenning, Mount Ayr, Iowa, 18.806
40. John Duty, Portland, Ore., 18.859
41. Rick Eckert, York, Pa., 18.903
42. Matt Furman, Iowa City, Iowa, 18.910
43. Scott James, Lawrenceburg, Ind., 18.994
44. Kevin Cole, Buckner, Ill., 19.065
45. Todd Shute, Des Moines, Iowa, 19.074
46. Chris Spieker, Massena, Iowa, 19.083
47. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa, 19.235
48. Nick Marolf, Moscow, Iowa, 19.290
49. Jill George, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 19.328
50. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction, Iowa, 19.463
51. Chad Chenoweth, Huron, S.D., 19.795
52. Johnny Johnson, West Burlington, Iowa, 19.882
53. Junior Coover, Norfolk, Neb., 20.245
54. Alonzo Grosse, Council Bluffs, Iowa, 20.410
55. Rich Bell, Sheffield, Ill., 20.625
56. Rod Smith, Monmouth, Ill., 20.729
57. Curt Schroeder, Des Moines, Iowa, 21.394
58. Al Stettner, Invergrove Heights, Minn., 21.420
59. Nick Kramer, Pine Island, Minn., 21.488
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information