Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 05:25:35

Sponsor 743
May 21
Virginia Motor Speedway,
Jamaica, VA
Sanction: Ultimate Southeast Series (King of the Commonwealth) - $20,000
Information provided by: Kyle McFadden and staff reports (last updated May 23, 5:25 pm)
Bailes scores rainy $20,000 win at VMS
King of the Commonwealth
  1. Ross Bailes
  2. Zack Mitchell
  3. Ben Watkins
  4. Kenny Moreland
  5. Dale Hollidge
  6. Kyle Hardy
  7. Trever Feathers
  8. Walker Arthur
  9. Carson Ferguson
  10. Cla Knight
  11. Jason Covert
  12. Corey Gordon
  13. Jensen Ford
  14. Michael Brown
  15. Jamie Lathroum
  16. Trevor Collins
  17. Garrett Smith
  18. Jeff Smith
  19. Brandon Overton
  20. Anthony Sanders
  21. Logan Roberson
  22. Doug Sanders
  23. Dennis Franklin
  24. Brian Ledbetter
  25. Tyler Emory
presented by
Al Goulder
Ross Bailes pocketed $20,000 after rain prematurely ended the event.
What won the race: Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., slipped past Brandon Overton when Overton got tangled in traffic on lap 17 and went on capture Saturday’s rain-shortened Virginia Is For Racing Lovers King of the Commonwealth feature at Virginia Motor Speedway. The 31-year-old driver earned $20,000 for winning an Ultimate Southeast Super Late Model Series event that was declared official after 23 of 60 scheduled laps.
Quotable: "We're going home with a check, so I chalk it up as a win. We were in a good position," Bailes said. "I hate that it happened to Overton, but I mean, I feel like we were in a spot to win. We'll take them however we can get them."
Key notes: When it became clear that the rain would not stop to allow the halfway point to be reached at a reasonable time, track and series officials agreed to declare the race official at lap 23 and pay drivers the full purse. ... Bailes's second victory of 2022 was the 10th of his career in Ultimate Southeast action and his richest ever in the Super Late Model division. ... Overton, the race's defending champion, led laps 1-16 before a scrape with the slower car driven by Dennis Franklin sent him high in turn two, allowing Bailes to grab the top spot. Overton pitted during a caution three laps later to fix left-front damage and change a tire. ... Zack Mitchell overtook Ben Watkins for second on a lap-19 restart and finished in the runner-up spot. ... Cautions flew on lap 19 for Jeff Smith and lap 23 for Logan Roberson, who lost a top-five spot to a flat tire. … Rain picked up during the lap-23 caution period to force a red flag; the decision to checkered the race was made about 45 minutes later. … Rain initially hit VMS around 8:45 p.m. ET as the King of the Commonwealth feature was being rushed onto the speedway in an effort to beat approaching weather, but only light precipitation fell as heavy thunderstorms just missed the track to the south and cars were on the track for pace laps shortly after 9 p.m. The track’s power and lights were then knocked out — likely from the ferocity of nearby storms — and the start of the feature was delayed until 9:34 p.m. ... No victory lane ceremonies were conducted due to the rain.
On the move: Michael Brown of Lancaster, S.C., started 22nd and finished 14th.
Winner's sponsors: Bailes drove a Billy Hicks-owned Longhorn Chassis powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by H&H Auto Sales, Felony Farms, Bailes Construction, Hoosier Tire South, Fred Caldwell Chevrolet and Bilstein Shocks.
Points chase: After VMS: 1. Zack Mitchell (198); 2. Anthony Sanders (166); 3. Corey Gordon (163); 4. Brian Ledbetter (137); 5. Doug Sanders (131).
Current weather: Broken Clouds, 70°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Zack Mitchell
Time: 18.368 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Overton
Heat race winners: Brandon Overton, Ross Bailes, Zack Mitchell, Ben Watkins
Next series race: May 29, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $7,500
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Overton, Mitchell
Row 2: Bailes, Watkins
Row 3: Roberson, Hollidge
Row 4: Arthur, Moreland
Row 5: Ca. Ferguson, Feathers
Row 6: Hardy, J. Smith
Row 7: Knight, Gordon
Row 8: Franklin, Ford
Row 9: Collins, Covert
Row 10: Emory, Lathroum
Row 11: G. Smith, Brown
Row 12: A. Sanders, Ledbetter
Row 13: D. Sanders
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information