Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 01:23:48

Sponsor 743
August 6
Independence Motor Speedway,
Independence, IA
Sanction: Hoker Trucking Series (Denny Osborn Memorial) - $7,200
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated August 7, 7:39 am)
Indee gives Neal sweep of Hoker weekend
Denny Osborn Memorial
  1. Jake Neal
  2. Charlie McKenna
  3. Tad Pospisil
  4. Jeff Aikey
  5. Todd Cooney
  6. Andy Eckrich
  7. Ben Schaller
  8. Matt Ryan
  9. Curt Martin
  10. Corey Zeitner
  11. Justin Kay
  12. Dave Eckrich
  13. Luke Goedert
  14. Logan Duffy
  15. Darrel DeFrance
  16. Jon Passick
  17. Curt Schroeder
  18. Jerod Ballhagen
  19. Jason Hahne
  20. Joel Callahan
  21. Luke Pestka
  22. Jeff Tharp
  23. Sean Johnson
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
By winning Saturday's $7,200 feature at Independence Motor Speedway, Jake Neal swept the weekend in Hoker Trucking Series competition.
What won the race: Jake Neal of Omaha, Neb., led all 36 laps from the outside front-row at Independence Motor Speedway on Saturday, cruising to win the Denny Osborn Memorial feature and $7,200. The victory is Neal's second of the weekend in Hoker Trucking Series competition, after winning Friday at Marshalltown and it is his fourth career win with the Iowa-based touring series.
Quotable: “I was watching my signal guy. I was kind of just giving it what it needed. And I didn’t really want to push it through lapped traffic, because they were kind of squirrely,” Neal said. “You didn’t really know which way they were gonna go. I knew I had a good enough car and if I did get passed I could get back to the front. So I was just trying to be patient. When a door opened, I took it.”
Key notes: Taking advantage of a lap-28 restart, fifth-starting Charlie McKenna of Ames, Iowa, finished in the runner-up position, 0.884 seconds back. ... Tad Pospisil of Norfolk, Neb., ran inside the top-three all race and completed the podium. ... Ninth-starting Todd Cooney of Des Moines, Iowa, advanced four positions and finished fifth. ... Hoker Trucking Series point leader Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, started 21st and finished 11th. ... Saturday's feature, the series second-ever visit to Indee and only stop there this season, was slowed by three cautions and lasted 17 minutes, with 16 competitors completing all 36 laps.
On the move: Jeff Aikey of Cedar Falls, Iowa, started 13th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Neal’s Swartz Race Car has a KS Engineering engine and sponsorship from All Makes Collision, H&H Racing, Beard Vet Coffee, I-80 Farms, Precision Performance, Diamond J Custom Services, Lajoie Seats, Hooker Harnesses, Hess Technology Designs, Prevost Racing, Downtown Recycling, Channel Seed, Midwest Outlaw Garage, Schoenfeld Headers, Wehr’s Machine and SSS Motorsports.
Points chase: Before Independence: 1. Justin Kay (1,904); 2. Luke Goedert (1,880); 3. Jason Hahne (1,818); 4. Andy Eckrich (1,812); 5. Charlie McKenna (1,802).
Current weather: Clear, 84°F
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Charlie McKenna
Time: 14.751 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Schaller
Heat race winners: Tad Pospisil, Darrel DeFrance, Ben Schaller, Curt Schroeder
Consolation race winners: Dave Eckrich, Sean Johnson
Provisional starters: Justin Kay, Luke Goedert, Jerod Ballhagen
Next series race: August 20, West Liberty Raceway (West Liberty, IA) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Schaller, Neal
Row 2: Pospisil, Hahne
Row 3: A. Eckrich, McKenna
Row 4: Ryan, DeFrance
Row 5: Cooney, Callahan
Row 6: Passick, Martin
Row 7: Aikey, C. Zeitner
Row 8: Schroeder, Pestka
Row 9: D. Eckrich, Johnson
Row 10: Duffy, Tharp
Row 11: Kay, Goedert
Row 12: Ballhagen

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information