Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

East Bay Raceway Park

Jack Nosbisch Jr. grabs $2,000 East Bay victory

February 7, 2014, 5:12 pm
From track reports
Jack Nosbisch Jr. picks up the checkered flag. (Mike Horne)
Jack Nosbisch Jr. picks up the checkered flag. (Mike Horne)

GIBSONTON, Fla. (Feb. 6) — Jack Nosbisch Jr. of Riverview, Fla., earned his first Crate Late Model victory at East Bay Raceway Park’s Winternationals on Thursday, pocketing $2,000 after overtaking Josh Peacock on the 14th lap.

Nosbisch finished a half-track margin ahead of runner-up Shan Smith of Dade City, Fla., nearly nine seconds ahead. Peacock, of Dover, Fla., was third followed by David Pollen Jr. of Tampa, Fla., and fast qualifier Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla.

“The car was working flawlessly,”  said the soft-spoken winner, who used the outside groove to gain the lead. “We changed stuff around to run the outside because I figured everyone would be on the bottom and right about lap 16, three of us were battling for the lead.”

Phillip Cobb and Peacock brought the field to the green, but it was Peacock that led through the first three yellow flags and until the halfway mark.

After Nosbisch grabbed the lead, a rash of yellow flags for minor spins on laps 17 and 18 kept the field bunched before Nosbisch started to distance himself from the field.

With five laps remaining, the winner had a five-second lead over Smith and Keith Nosbisch, who faded in the final laps.

Notes: Nosbisch’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Buddy’s Home Furnishings, Deland Truck Center, Adam’s Used Auto Parts of Tampa and the UPS Store in Riverview. … Keith Nosbisch’s 15.038-second quick time lowered the Crate Late Model track record. … Time trials were interrupted 35 minutes for a brief rain shower. … Crate Late Models compete Friday and Saturday at East Bay before the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series comes to town Feb. 10.

Winternationals: (1) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (2) Shan Smith, (3) Josh Peacock, (4) David Pollen Jr., (5) Keith Nosbisch, (6) David Schmauss, (7) Bryan Bernhardt, (8) Travis Varnadore, (9) Kolby Vandenbergh, (10) Bob Gardner, (11) Steve Miller, (12) Bobby Richardson, (13) Kurt Waush, (14) Bill Tesh, (15) Doug Horton, (16) Jeremy Adamik, (17) Derek Brown, (18) Kyle Musselman, (19) Tommy Prince, (20) Phillip Cobb, (21) Megan Meyer, (22) Jamie Slatton. Fast qualifier: K. Nosbisch, 15.038 seconds. Heat race winners: Cobb, K. Nosbisch, Peacock.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728