Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway

Lukon holds off Montgomery at PPMS

July 14, 2013, 9:07 pm
From series reports
Kyle Lukon won at Pittsburgh. (Frank Wilson)
Kyle Lukon won at Pittsburgh. (Frank Wilson)

IMPERIAL, Pa. (July 13) — Kyle Lukon of Burgettstown, Pa., came out on top of a wild 25-lap feature by a mere 0.206 of a second over Ryan Montgomery on Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway to become the season's seventh winner on the Sweeney Chevrolet-Buick-GMC RUSH tour for Crate Late Models.

Though the 23-year-old standout led every lap in his first series start, Lukon had the region's best right behind him including the hard charge by the ninth-starting Montgomery to hold on for the $1,200 victory. Mark Moats Jr. was third on a night when a season-high 40 cars packed the pits while Mike Pegher Jr. and Justin Tatlow rounded out the top five in the third round of the Cross the Borders Speedweek.

After a 10-car pileup on a restart slowed the action, Montgomery threw everything but the kitchen sink at Lukon in the final five laps.

The two raced side-by-side on several occasions, but Lukon had the momentum off the high side to hold off Montgomery's last-lap charge to the finish. Lukon notched his fifth victory of the season at PPMS.

RUSH @ PPMS: (1) Kyle Lukon, (2) Ryan Montgomery, (3) Mark Moats Jr., (4) Mike Pegher Jr., (5) Justin Tatlow, (6) Joe Martin, (7) Justin Lamb, (8) Tommy Schirnhofer Jr., (9) Paul Jablonski, (10) Jason Ride, (11) Laura Lukon, (12) Colton Flinner, (13) Max Blair, (14) Rick Singleton, (15) Ben Policz, (16) Dusty Curry, (17) Matt Latta, (18) Nico Dabecco, (19) Josh Holtgraver, (20) Andrew Satterlee, (21) Rocky Kugel, (22) Dan Angelicchio, (23) Dennis Niederriter, (24) Michael Reft, (25) Andrew Wylie, (26) Chad Ruhlman. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Ruhlman, Schirnhofer, K. Lukon, Wylie. Dash winner: Flinner. Consolation winners: Satterlee, Reft. Provisional starters: Singleton, Lamb. Non-qualifiers’ race winner: Jorden Peters.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728