Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

East Bay Raceway Park

Whitener nabs another Fastrak victory

February 2, 2013, 9:34 am
From series reports
Mark Whitener made another trip to victory lane. (ricksdarkroom.com)
Mark Whitener made another trip to victory lane. (ricksdarkroom.com)

GIBSONTON, Fla. (Feb. 1) — Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., outdueled Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., on Saturday at East Bay Raceway Park for his second straight Fastrak Racing Series victory at the 37th annual Winternationals. Whitener, who goes for three in a row at the third-mile oval Saturday, earned $2,000.

Franklin settled for second with Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., in third. Brandon Umberger of Rural Retreat, Va., and Chris Cantrell of Chester, S.C., rounded out the top five.

Umberger and Devin Dixon started on the front row with Franklin in pursuit at the outset, but a first-lap scramble in turn four was triggered when Bill Tesh got loose, collecting Phillip Cobb, Steven Mathis Jr. and Jamie Slatton.

Several other early cautions continued to hamper the action, including David Smith’s spin that collected Colton Flinner and Doug Watson, and then when Smith’s teammate Chris Ferguson spun on lap five for a big pileup.

The race finally got rolling with green-flag racing from laps 5-27 with Whitener and Franklin battling up front. Late cautions for Rick Singleton and Cobb set up a two-lap dash to the checkers, and Whitener fought off Franklin at the finish.

Fastrak action at East Bay wraps up Saturday with the $3,000-to-win finale.

Notes: Whitener’s Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Dave’s Towing and B&B Produce. ... All 27 entrants started the main event. ... Fastrak action from East Bay is available on live pay-per-view at XSAN.TV.

Winternationals: (1) Mark Whitener, (2) Dennis Franklin, (3) Keith Nosbisch, (4) Brandon Umberger, (5) Chris Cantrell, (6) Wayne Robertson, (7) Devin Dixon, (8) Steve Banal, (9) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (10) Josh Peacock, (11) Doug Watson, (12) Mavrick Varnadore, (13) Phillip Cobb, (14) Corey Gordon, (15) Steve Miller, (16) Travis Varnadore, (17) Derrick Brown, (18) Scott Chenoweth, (19) Rick Singleton, (20) Kurt Waush, (21) Jamie Slatton, (22) Chris Ferguson, (23) Bryan Bernhardt, (24) David Smith, (25) Colton Flinner, (26) Steve Mathis Jr., (27) Bill Tesh. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Umberger, Dixon, Franklin, K. Nosbisch.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728