Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dirt Track at Charlotte

Ferguson outruns Parker for victory at Charlotte

May 26, 2012, 6:58 am
From track reports
Chris Ferguson (22) stalks Ron Parker at the Dirt Track at Charlotte. (Gary Laster)
Chris Ferguson (22) stalks Ron Parker at the Dirt Track at Charlotte. (Gary Laster)

CONCORD, N.C. (May 25) — Pole-starting Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., earned his first career victory at the Dirt Track at Charlotte on Friday in NDRA-sanctioned action for Crate Late Models. Ferguson pocketed $2,000.

Ron Parker of Belwood, N.C., led for most of the 25-lapper after taking the lead away from Ferguson. The two battled side-by-side and Ferguson regained the lead with five laps remaining en route to the victory. | Slideshow

“I can't say enough about my crew. There's not one over here that's over the age of 21 on my crew tonight,” said the 22-year-old Ferguson. "Us young guys really (caught) up tonight and ran with the old guys,” said Ferguson. “We've (run) in about five or six races this year and we should've won five or six of them, but we only won one. It feels good to get this one.”

Parker finished second followed by consolation race winner Dennis "Rambo" Franklin of Gaffney, S.C. Dan Breuer of Troutman, N.C., and Jeff Smith of Dallas, N.C., rounded out the top five.

The race was marred by two cautions and a red flag on lap two, which resulted from a crash involving Brad Smith barrel rolling down the frontstretch. No injuries were reported.

Ferguson’s victory came on the undercard of Joey Saldana’s World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series victory at the Circle K NOS Energy Outlaw Showdown.

NDRA @ Charlotte: (1) Chris Ferguson, (2) Ron Parker, (3) Dennis Franklin, (4) Dan Breuer, (5) Jeff Smith, (6) Matt Long, (7) Bob Robertson, (8) Greg Clark, (9) Timbo Mangum, (10) Corey Gordon, (11) Anthony Sanders, (12) Jimmy Schiltz, (13) Steve Cooke, (14) Mitchell Coble, (15) Jonathan Edwards, (16) Jeff Graves, (17) Chris Cheek, (18) Michael Brown, (19) Gib Gibbons, (20) Steve Banal, (21) Kent Peckham, (22) Steven Blanton, (23) Brad Smith, (24) Donnie Austin. Consolation race winners: Franklin, Robertson.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728