Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Green Valley Speedway

Madden eyes sweep at GVS Crate Nationals

March 27, 2010, 9:22 am
From track reports
Chris Madden set fast time and won the first heat. (mikessportsimages.com)
Chris Madden set fast time and won the first heat. (mikessportsimages.com)

GLENCOE, Ala. (March 26) — Friday's fast qualifier Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., will be among the top starters for Saturday's GVS Crate Nationals at Green Valley Speedway. Madden, whose 14.62-second lap in time trials topped 72 entrants, overcame a four-car inversion to capture the first heat in Friday's prelims at the 3/8-mile oval. | Heat race video | Slideshow

Saturday's unsanctioned 100-lapper is the richest Crate Late Model event nationally, paying $25,000 to the winner and at least $1,000 to every starter.

Other heat race winners were Tom Maddox of Piedmont, Ala.; Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga.; Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn.; Steven Roberts of Sylvester, Ga.; and Elbert McCullough of Cedar Bluff, Ala.

Overall, 20 drivers were locked into the feature lineup, including fast qualifier provisionals Eric Cooley and T.J. Alford. Other drivers with feature starting spots are last year's winner Shanon Buckingham, Chip Brindle, Chris Steele, Justin McRee, David Gentry, Jason Hiett, Scotty Knowles, Jeff Smith, Derrick Rainey, Royce Bray, William Thomas and reigning Crate Late Model track champion Chris Noah.

Eight more drivers will complete the 28-car starting field through Saturday's consolation races.

Notes: Saturday's forecasts are for clear skies with highs in the mid-60s. ... Grandstand admission is $20 for adults, $10 for ages 5-16 and free for children 4 and under. ... The fastest qualifiers in each qualifying group were Anthony Sanders, Chris Madden, Eric Cooley, Justin McRee, Jonathan Davenport and Ronnie Johnson; each started fourth in heat races. ... Randy Weaver was running in a transfer spot in his heat race but fell out, boosting last year's winner Shanon Buckingham into a transfer position.

Editor's note: Because of technical issues, video was only available from the first four heat races.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728