Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 22:32:36

Sponsor 743
April 29
Lake Ozark Speedway,
Eldon, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Battle at the Beach) - $7,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 30, 2:09 pm)
Chad Simpson slides to $7,000 Lake Ozark win
Battle at the Beach
  1. Chad Simpson
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Garrett Alberson
  4. Tyler Stevens
  5. Jake Timm
  6. Justin Reed
  7. Morgan Bagley
  8. Dillon McCowan
  9. Daniel Hilsabeck
  10. Cole Wells
  11. Logan Martin
  12. Trevor Gundaker
  13. Justin Duty
  14. Dusty Leonard
  15. Jeff Herzog
  16. Dustin Hodges
  17. Steve Stultz
  18. Jamie Burford
  19. Payton Looney
  20. Mason Oberkramer
  21. Spencer Diercks
  22. Brennon Willard
  23. Johnathan Huston
  24. Tony Jackson Jr.
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chad Simpson emerges $7,000 richer from Saturday's 36-car MLRA field.
What won the race: Executing a risky slider at the exit of turn four on lap 27, Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, led the final 14 laps at Lake Ozark Speedway, winning Saturday's $7,000 Battle at the Beach weekend finale. Simpson, the reigning Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association champion and current series points leader, secured his 18th career tour victory and his second of the season.
Quotable: “I kept gaining ground and gaining ground, then he (Jake Timm) would slow me up in three and four, he kinda checked up all the time, which he was doing what he had to do to kinda keep me behind him,” Simpson said. “I just knew we were getting close to the end of the race and I had to get aggressive there. I knew I had him cleared, I just was hoping he would turn and probably cross me back over and it’d be a little dicey there for a little bit, but he got into the back of me there. I don’t mean to do that by any means, but you know, we’re here to win races.”
Key notes: Jake Timm of Winona, Minn., led the first 26 laps from the pole and battled hard with Simpson for several laps, just prior to the race's halfway mark. Simpson slid across Timm's nose in his move for the lead, with the two making contact, causing Timm to lose several positions and finish fifth. ... A night after winning Friday's $5,000 opener, Chris Simpson finished second to his older brother, marking their third 1-2 finish of the season and their second in as many nights. ... Garrett Alberson advanced five positions and finished third. ... Morgan Bagley gained four spots and finished seventh. ... Daniel Hilsabeck started 18th and finished ninth. ... The race's second caution was a multi-car incident on lap 21 involving Logan Martin, Tony Jackson Jr., Justin Duty and Trevor Gundaker. Jackson was extremely displeased with Martin following the incident, attempting to hit Martin's car with his badly-damaged machine multiple times while still under yellow. Jackson also attempted to approach Martin's window before MLRA officials restrained him; Martin, Gundaker and Duty were able to continue, finishing 11th-13th with Jackson finished 24th. ... Saturday's feature, the seventh MLRA Series visit to Lake Ozark, was slowed by seven cautions and lasted 37 minutes with 18 competitors completing all 40 laps.
On the move: Tyler Stevens of Searcy, Ark., started 14th and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn by Wells Chassis has a Pro Power Racing Engine with sponsorship from Ideal Ready Mix, Randy Davidson Trucking, Venture Concrete & Excavating, Moeller Farms, Midwest Frame & Axle, Volker Trucking, Subway, Stewart & Sons, Holmtown Pub, Burich Trucking, BMRE, Twenty 5 Design, Grasshopper Lawn Care, NAPA, Lucas Oil, Gorsuch Performance, Swift Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Wehrs Machine and Performance Bodies.
Points chase: After Lake Ozark Saturday: 1. Chad Simpson (1,340); 2. Chris Simpson (1,165); 3. Garrett Alberson (1,110); 4. Tyler Stevens (1,070); 5. Dillon McCowan (1,050).
Current weather: Scattered Clouds, 64°F
Car count: 36
Fast qualifier: Jake Timm
Time: 13.726 seconds
Polesitter: Jake Timm
Heat race winners: Jake Timm, Payton Looney, Chad Simpson, Chris Simpson
Consolation race winners: Mason Oberkramer, Daniel Hilsabeck
Provisional starters: Johnathan Huston, Brennon Willard
Next series race: June 30, C.J. Speedway (Columbus Junction, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Timm, Chad Simpson
Row 2: Looney, Chris Simpson
Row 3: Reed, McCowan
Row 4: Diercks, Alberson
Row 5: Wells, Duty
Row 6: Bagley, Hodges
Row 7: Martin, Stevens
Row 8: Burford, Jackson Jr.
Row 9: Oberkramer, Hilsabeck
Row 10: Herzog, T. Gundaker
Row 11: Leonard, Stultz
Row 12: Huston, Willard
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information