Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 12/10/2023 11:47:42

Sponsor 743
April 28
Lake Ozark Speedway,
Eldon, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Battle at the Beach) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 29, 6:02 pm)
Chris wins Lake Ozark's battle of Simpsons
Battle at the Beach
  1. Chris Simpson
  2. Chad Simpson
  3. Tyler Stevens
  4. Daniel Hilsabeck
  5. Logan Martin
  6. Justin Duty
  7. Cole Wells
  8. Jeff Herzog
  9. Dusty Leonard
  10. Dustin Hodges
  11. Cole Henson
  12. Trevor Gundaker
  13. Dalton Imhoff
  14. Garrett Alberson
  15. Dillon McCowan
  16. Tony Jackson Jr.
  17. Mason Oberkramer
  18. Spencer Diercks
  19. Kayden Clatt
  20. Payton Looney
  21. Johnathan Huston
  22. Justin Reed
  23. Brennon Willard
  24. Jake Timm
  25. Aaron Marrant
  26. Steve Stultz
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Chris Simpson (32) outran older brother Chad (25) to win Friday's $5,000 MLRA opener at Lake Ozark.
What won the race: Regaining the lead with an inside move out of turn four, Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, led the final 10 laps at Lake Ozark Speedway, winning Friday's $5,000 Battle at the Beach weekend opener. Simpson led twice for a total of 12 laps, earning his first victory of the season and his first Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association triumph since 2021 and 16th of his career.
Quotable: “Yeah I was good down on the bottom, but they kept kinda pushing the tires out during the caution and one time they would, one time they wouldn’t,” Simpson said. “Yeah I just kinda had to get up top in (turns) three and four and let it eat. (His spotter) moved me down at the end, but I didn’t want to leave that top, I was getting a hell of a run off there.”
Key notes: Chad Simpson finished second to his younger brother, 0.955 of a second back. It's the second 1-2 finish for the Simpson brothers this season after Chad topped Chris on April 13 at Davenport Speedway. ... Tyler Stevens advanced nine positions and finished third. ... Daniel Hilsabeck gained seven spots and finished fourth. ... World of Outlaws Series regular Logan Martin moved forward nine positions and finished fifth. ... Sixteenth-starting Justin Duty overcame a spin on lap 23 and finished sixth. ... Garrett Alberson retired on lap 28 while running fifth. ... Polesitter Tony Jackson Jr. led laps three through 20 before being overtaken by Simpson; Jackson jumped the turn-two cushion and made contact with the wall on lap 25, finishing 16th. ... Mason Oberkramer was unable to continue after slowing from third on a lap-22 restart attempt. ... Friday's feature, the third annual Battle at the Beach weekend opener, was slowed by six incidents and lasted 37 minutes; 13 competitors completed 30 laps.
On the move: Cole Wells of Aurora, Mo., started 19th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Simpson’s Longhorn Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by C&J Trucking, Five Star Shop Service, Randy Davidson Trucking, Hotrod Septic Treatment, Hoker Trucking LLC, HD Equipment, Superior Cleaning Services LTD, Capital Capsigns.com, Allgaier Performance, Simpson Farms, IITI, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tire and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: After Lake Ozark Friday: 1. Chad Simpson (1,090); 2. Chris Simpson (935); 3. Garrett Alberson (890); 4. Tyler Stevens (860); T5. Dillon McCowan (850); T5. Jeff Herzog (850).
Current weather: Clear, 63°F
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Tony Jackson Jr.
Time: 13.798 seconds
Polesitter: Tony Jackson Jr.
Heat race winners: Tony Jackson Jr., Chris Simpson, Chad Simpson, Garrett Alberson
Consolation race winners: Trevor Gundaker, Cole Henson
Provisional starters: Steve Stultz, Dustin Hodges, Brennon Willard, Kayden Clatt
Next series race: April 29, Lake Ozark Speedway (Eldon, MO) $7,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Jackson Jr., Chad Simpson
Row 2: Chris Simpson, Alberson
Row 3: Diercks, Oberkramer
Row 4: Looney, McCowan
Row 5: Timm, Reed
Row 6: Hilsabeck, Stevens
Row 7: Herzog, Martin
Row 8: Marrant, Duty
Row 9: T. Gundaker, Henson
Row 10: Wells, Huston
Row 11: Leonard, Imhoff
Row 12: Stultz, Hodges
Row 13: Willard, Clatt
Sponsor 863
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information