Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 10/01/2022 07:25:59

Sponsor 743
August 26
Ponderosa Speedway,
Junction City, KY
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series (John Bradshaw Memorial) - $10,000
Information provided by: Alli Collis and series reports (last updated August 28, 12:03 am)
Annexing Ponderosa, Bloomquist leads 50 laps
John Bradshaw Memorial
  1. Scott Bloomquist
  2. Tim McCreadie
  3. Dennis Erb Jr.
  4. Greg Johnson
  5. Don O'Neal
  6. Mike Marlar
  7. Dustin Linville
  8. Chris Madden
  9. Gregg Satterlee
  10. Jason Jameson
  11. Jimmy Owens
  12. Cody Mahoney
  13. Brandon Sheppard
  14. Earl Pearson Jr.
  15. Steve Francis
  16. Darrell Lanigan
  17. Jonathan Davenport
  18. Jared Hawkins
  19. D.J. Wells
  20. Josh Rice
  21. Colton Flinner
  22. David Seibers
  23. Brian Smith
  24. Brandon Kinzer
  25. Michael Chilton
presented by
Heath Lawson/heathlawsonphotos.com
Scott Bloomquist won his series-leading 11th Lucas Oil victory.
What won the race: Charging to the front of the field at the drop of the green flag, polesitter Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., led all 50 laps, outrunning fifth-starting Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., for a $10,000 Lucas Oil Series victory at Ponderosa Speedway.
On the move: Don O'Neal of Martinsville, Ind., advanced from the 11th starting spot to run fifth; Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, Ky., improved from the 14th starting position to finish seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Bloomquist's Sweet-Bloomquist chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and is sponsored by Reece Monuments, Mark Martin Automotive, Crop Production Services, Dyna-Gro, Sorbera Chiropractic, Horton Oil, Base Race Fuels, Hawkeye Trucking, Ole Smokey Moonshine and Sweet Manufacturing.
Points chase: Bloomquist extended his edge in the standings to 545 points (6,220-5,675) over Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga. Brandon Sheppard of New Berlin, Ill., moved to third in the standings with 5,475 points.
Car count: 28
Fast qualifier: Scott Bloomquist
Time: 13.509 seconds
Polesitter: Scott Bloomquist
Heat race winners: Scott Bloomquist, Dennis Erb Jr., Jared Hawkins, Jimmy Owens
Consolation race winners: Darrell Lanigan
Next series race: September 2, Attica Raceway Park (Attica, OH) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.
By Alli Collis
DirtonDirt.com staff writer

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. (Aug. 26) — It was just one year ago that Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., finished runner-up in Ponderosa Speedway’s John Bradshaw Memorial.

On Friday night, he was one spot better. Charging to the front of the field at the drop of the green flag, the Hall of Famer led all 50 laps, capturing his 11th Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of season for a $10,000 payday.

“The car was just about as good as you could ask for,” Bloomquist said in victory lane. "If I could go in and do some work on the car, dial it, I don’t know what I’d change.”

Starting on the pole, Bloomquist dominated the 25-car field, never facing a serious challenge for the lead as he navigated through heavy lapped traffic. The Lucas Oil points leader praised the racetrack, which underwent a change in promoters earlier this season. New clay was recently added to the 3/8-mile oval as a part of speedway renovations.

“It really helped the racetrack a lot,” Bloomquist said. "Used to, you’d pretty much have to marry the wall in (turns) three and four, and you could race all over it tonight. You could run the bottom, middle, top … it’s really been a big improvement. I really enjoyed racing here tonight.”

While Bloomquist cruised over the field, a tight battle ensued for the runner-up spot, with Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y., outrunning Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., at the checkers. Greg Johnson of Bedford, Ind., ran fourth, with Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., pulling ahead of Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., on a late-race restart to round out the top five.

“I went harder on the right-rear than (Bloomquist) did,” McCreadie said. "I didn’t want to see any yellows, to be honest with you. I know the first run, he got away from all of us. But I think it would have equalized. The yellows, they help. But he had the best car all night.

"Run second in the heat, second in the feature … we’re better than we were two weeks ago, so that’s good.”

Erb, who has only made a couple of appearances at the central Kentucky oval, was pleased with his team’s improvements and a third-place finish.

“It was a lot better than what we were the first time here,” Erb said. "It was good to battle up front there. The car just got a little loose there at the end. But to come home third, I’m happy with that.”

Notes: The first yellow flag waved on lap 22 when fourth-running Jimmy Owens slowed on the frontstretch. ... Josh Rice drew a caution on lap 28 when he slowed in turn one. ... A yellow flag flew on lap 40 when fifth-running Jared Hawkins lost a wheel; he was piloting the Eric Hudkins-owned No. 1 that was driven earlier this season by Paul Wilmoth Jr. and Mike Benedum. ... The final caution fell on lap 45. ... Mike Marlar won the past two John Bradshaw Memorial events; he finished sixth. ... Jason Jameson posted a top-10 finish behind the wheel of Justin Rattliff's No. 16.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Bloomquist, Hawkins
Row 2: Erb, Owens
Row 3: McCreadie, Sheppard
Row 4: Marlar, Satterlee
Row 5: Johnson, Satterlee
Row 6: Neal, Madden
Row 7: Rice, Linville
Row 8: Francis, Jameson
Row 9: Lanigan, Wells
Row 10: Davenport, Seibers
Row 11: Mahoney, Colton Flinner
Row 12: Kinzer, Smith

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728