Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/26/2024 00:27:09

Sponsor 743
December 5
Volunteer Speedway,
Bulls Gap, TN
Sanction: Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series (Grinch 40) - $5,000
Information provided by: InsideDirtRacing.com and series reports (last updated December 6, 4:08 pm)
Madden bolts to $5,000 Grinch 40 triumph
Grinch 40
  1. Chris Madden
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Kyle Strickler
  4. Trent Ivey
  5. Benji Hicks
  6. Daulton Wilson
  7. Travis Fultz
  8. Forrest Trent
  9. Anthony Sanders
  10. Matthew Nance
  11. Rich Bell
  12. Adam Yarbrough
  13. John Price
  14. Tim Vance
  15. Jadon Frame
  16. Shane Bailey
  17. Richard Edwards
  18. Scott Bloomquist
  19. Steve Smith
  20. David Yandle
  21. Christian Hanger
presented by
Michael Boggs
A victorious Chris Madden climbs from his car Saturday at Volunteer Speedway.
What won the race: Bolting forward from the sixth starting spot, Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., grabbed the lead from Scott Bloomquist on lap nine and marched on to capture Saturday's Drydene Xtreme DIRTcar Series-sanctioned Grinch 40 at Volunteer Speedway. The 45-year-old star beat Donald McIntosh to the finish line by 0.755 of a second for a $5,000 payday.
Quotable: “We drew a six (starting position) which is about normal for me, so it made it interesting for the fans,” said Madden. “We got the lead there and just kinda put it on cruise. We were having fun there basically just moving around behind (leader Scott Bloomquist) and just running where he wasn’t. We had a great race car, so it was just a matter of time there.”
Key notes: Madden was victorious in Volunteer's Xtreme-sanctioned Grinch 40 for the second consecutive year. ... It was Madden's fourth win since restarting his own team in October and his ninth overall of 2020. ... McIntosh advanced from the ninth starting spot to second by lap 26 and chased Madden to the finish line. ... Kyle Strickler finished third and running in the second spot for laps 11-25. ... The second-starting Bloomquist led laps 1-8 before retiring two circuits after ceding the top spot to Madden. ... Among the race's four caution flags was a lap-two slowdown for Christian Hanger losing a wheel in turn two. ... After lowering the track record in time trials and starting from the pole position the feature, Daulton Wilson finished sixth. ... The series has six events scheduled from Nov. 22 until Feb. 27.
On the move: Travis Fultz of Harrogate, Tenn., started 18th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: The Chris Madden Racing Rocket Chassis is powered by an Andy Durham Racing Engine and sponsored by Drydene Performance Products, Henderson Amusement, Millwood Plumbing, Century Plastics, Davis Diesel Service, Worley Monument, VP Racing Fuels, Penske Racing Shocks, Hoosier Racing Tire and Cole Perkins Media & Promotions.
Points chase: Strickler took over the points lead with his third-place finish.
Current weather: Overcast, 45°F
Car count: 22
Fast qualifier: Daulton Wilson
Time: 11.794 seconds
Polesitter: Daulton Wilson
Heat race winners: Daulton Wilson, Chris Madden, Kyle Strickler
Next series race: December 12, Lavonia Speedway (Lavonia, GA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: D. Wilson, Bloomquist
Row 2: Hanger, Strickler
Row 3: Sanders, Madden
Row 4: Frame, Hicks
Row 5: McIntosh, Nance
Row 6: F. Trent, Yarbrough
Row 7: Ivey, Yandle
Row 8: Vance, Bell
Row 9: S. Smith, Fultz
Row 10: Bailey, Price
Row 11: Edwards, Coghlan 
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information