Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/19/2024 22:39:41

Sponsor 743
November 18
Lancaster Motor Speedway,
Lancaster, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Palmetto State 50) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated November 19, 2:21 am)
Watkins steals Lancaster's Palmetto State 50
Palmetto State 50
  1. Ben Watkins
  2. Donald McIntosh
  3. Adam Yarbrough
  4. Daulton Wilson
  5. Benji Hicks
  6. Christian Thomas
  7. Dennis Franklin
  8. Gray Parton
  9. David McCoy
  10. David Yandle
  11. Josh Henry
  12. Mike Huey
  13. Michael Brown
  14. Kevin Godwin
  15. Haiden Cowan
  16. Carl Vaughan
presented by
Kevin Ritchie
Ben Watkins captured his sixth straight feature victory at Lancaster.
What won the race: Taking the lead from mid-race pacesetter Donald McIntosh on lap 43, Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., led the final eight circuits to win Saturday's $10,000 eighth annual Palmetto State 50 at Lancaster Motor Speedway. Watkins notched his sixth straight Super Late Model victory at Lancaster dating back to last year's Red Rose Rumble.
Key notes: Watkins's victory is his fifth of the season with the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series and the 12th of his career; it's his first career Valvoline Iron-Man Racing Series triumph. ... The third-starting McIntosh, of Dawsonville, Ga., led laps 6-42 before giving way to Watkins and finishing 1.917 seconds back. ... Fifth-starting Adam Yarbrough led laps 4-5 before slipping to finish third. ... Daulton Wilson ran as high as second prior to halfway before fading to finish fourth. ... Christian Thomas led the first three laps from the pole before settling for sixth. ... Dennis Franklin improved two positions and finished seventh. ... David McCoy gained three spots and placed ninth. ... Josh Henry finished 11th and clinched the 2023 Iron-Man Southern Series title. ... Michael Brown drew the race's second caution when he slowed from second on lap 13 and called it a night. ... Second-starting Haiden Cowan kept pace with Thomas in the early laps before pulling off on lap five. ... Saturday's feature was slowed by three cautions and lasted 31 minutes, with 10 drivers completing the distance. ... The Carolina Clash Series concludes its 2023 season with Sunday's 33rd annual Blue-Gray 100 at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C.
On the move: Benji Hicks of Mount Airy, N.C., started 10th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Watkins drives a Longhorn Chassis powered by a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship from WP Racing Shocks, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Sandwood Company, Craig Industries, John Page Racing, Langleys Collision Center, Bilstein Shocks, VP Racing Fuels, Allstar Performance and Collins Signs.
Points chase: Josh Henry of Newport, Tenn., finished 11th and clinched the 2023 Valvoline Iron-Man Southern Series championship. Carolina Clash Series before Lancaster: 1. Ben Watkins (1,205); 2. Gray Parton (1,094); 3. David Yandle (935); 4. Adam Yarbrough (819); 5. Jeff Smith (797).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 16
Fast qualifier: Christian Thomas
Time: 19.177 seconds
Polesitter: Christian Thomas
Next series race: November 19, Cherokee Speedway (Gaffney, SC) $20,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Thomas, Cowan
Row 2: McIntosh, Wilson
Row 3: Yarbrough, Watkins
Row 4: Brown, Parton
Row 5: Franklin, Hicks
Row 6: Henry, McCoy
Row 7: Yandle, Huey
Row 8: Godwin, Vaughan

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information