Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 07/23/2024 16:05:51

Sponsor 743
February 2
Screven Motor Speedway,
Sylvania, GA
Sanction: Coltman Farms Southern All Star Series (Winter Freeze XIV) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated February 3, 10:24 am)
Smith repels Overton to win $3,000 at Screven
Winter Freeze XIV
  1. Garrett Smith
  2. Brandon Overton
  3. Pearson Lee Williams
  4. Ray Cook
  5. Wil Herrington
  6. Ross Bailes
  7. Payton Freeman
  8. David McCoy
  9. Carson Ferguson
  10. Dalton Cook
  11. Bo Slay
  12. Ryan Wilson
  13. Billy Franklin
  14. Billy Boyd Jr.
  15. Kendall Franklin
  16. Haiden Cowan
  17. Trent Ivey
  18. Cla Knight
  19. Caleb Gay
  20. Brent Dixon
  21. Matt Cosner
  22. Chase Oliver
  23. Jamie Oliver
  24. Todd Brennan
  25. Joe Denby
  26. Carson Brown
  27. Benji Hicks
  28. Christian Hanger
presented by
Zackary Washington
Garrett Smith stands in victory lane after his $3,000 win in Screven's Winter Freeze opener.
What won the race: Taking the point on a lap-four restart and staving off a late-race challenge from Brandon Overton, second-starting Garrett Smith of Eatonton, Ga., scored a $3,000 victory in Friday night's 30-lap opener of the 14th annual Winter Freeze at Screven Motor Speedway. Smith held on to win by 0.490 of a second over Overton, securing his first career Coltman Farms Racing Southern All Star Series triumph and ending a winless slump dating back to his October 2022 Dirt Track World Championship checkered flag at Portsmouth (Ohio) Raceway Park.
Key notes: The pole-starting Overton, of Evans, Ga., led the first three laps of Friday's opener before settling for second. ... Sixth-starting Pearson Lee Williams took third on lap 22 and completed the podium finishers. He rose up to threaten Smith and Overton in the final laps. ... Ray Cook took fourth from Wil Herrington at the checkers, leaving Herrington to round out the top five after winning a consolation. ... Two-time defending Winter Freeze winner Ross Bailes improved eight positions and finished sixth. ... Payton Freeman gained five spots and placed seventh. ... Dalton Cook overcame solo spins that drew cautions on lap three (while third) and lap 14 (while 14th) to finish 10th. ... Cla Knight slowed from fourth on lap 23 and called it a night. ... Benji Hicks pulled off after the opening lap while Christian Hanger forfeited his ninth starting position when he retired with mechanical woes during pace laps. ... Friday's feature was slowed by six cautions and lasted 33 minutes, with 12 drivers completing 30 laps and 17 running at the finish. ... The Winter Freeze concludes with Saturday's 40-lap, $12,000-to-win main event. ... Watch live on FloRacing.
On the move: Wil Herrington of Hawkinsville, Ga., started 18th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Smith’s Rocket Chassis carries sponsorship from Terminal Maintenance & Construction, The World Famous Cadillac Ranch, Atlanta Paving & Concrete Construction, Senior Life Insurance Company, Fox Racing Shox, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil, VP Racing Fuels, Boswell Oil, K&N Filters, Go Lithium Batteries, National Auto Parts and ShopGarrettSmith.com.
Points chase: It's the season-opening weekend doubleheader.
Current weather: Clear, 45°F
Car count: 34
Fast qualifier: Brandon Overton
Time: 14.314 seconds
Polesitter: Brandon Overton
Consolation race winners: Brent Dixon, Wil Herrington
Provisional starters: Billy Franklin, Bo Slay, Kendall Franklin, Ryan Wilson, Billy Boyd Jr., Joe Denby
Next series race: February 3, Screven Motor Speedway (Sylvania, GA) $12,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: B. Overton, Smith
Row 2: Cosner, D. Cook
Row 3: R. Cook, Williams
Row 4: Cowan, J. Oliver
Row 5: Hanger, Ca. Ferguson
Row 6: McCoy, Freeman
Row 7: Knight, Bailes
Row 8: Brennan, Gay
Row 9: Dixon, Herrington
Row 10: Brown, Hicks
Row 11: C. Oliver, Ivey
Row 12: B. Franklin, Slay
Row 13: K. Franklin, Wilson
Row 14: Boyd Jr., Denby
Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information