Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 05/25/2024 09:43:24

Sponsor 743
February 3
Screven Motor Speedway,
Sylvania, GA
Sanction: Coltman Farms Southern All Star Series (Winter Freeze XIV) - $12,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated February 6, 8:40 pm)
Overton tops Smith for $12,000 Winter Freeze
Winter Freeze XIV
  1. Brandon Overton
  2. Garrett Smith
  3. Haiden Cowan
  4. Payton Freeman
  5. Wil Herrington
  6. Ross Bailes
  7. Ray Cook
  8. Dalton Cook
  9. Carson Ferguson
  10. Brent Dixon
  11. Cla Knight
  12. Benji Hicks
  13. David McCoy
  14. Jamie Oliver
  15. Trent Ivey
  16. Matt Cosner
  17. Caleb Gay
  18. Ryan Wilson
  19. Billy Franklin
  20. Kendall Franklin
  21. Billy Boyd Jr.
  22. Pearson Lee Williams
  23. Chase Oliver
  24. Todd Brennan
  25. Bo Slay
  26. Joe Denby
presented by
Kevin Ritchie
Brandon Overton (76) slides under Garrett Smith (10) and goes on to win $12,000.
What won the race: Sliding by race-long pacesetter Garrett Smith with an inside move out of turn four, fifth-starting Brandon Overton took the lead on lap 34 and marched on to capture Saturday's 14th annual 50-lap Winter Freeze finale at Screven Motor Speedway. Overton earned $12,000 his seventh career Coltman Farms Racing Southern All Star Series victory and his first since March 7, 2021, at Cherokee Speedway in Gaffney, S.C.
Quotable: “I knew (the track) was rubbered. It was honestly rubbered as soon as we went out there,” Overton said. “By the time I got around Haiden (Cowan), (the track) pretty much bolted down. That’s one of those deals where running second is better than being out front leading. (Smith) drove out of the rubber and we took advantage of it.”
Key notes: After winning Friday's $3,000 SAS season opener, the second-starting Smith, of Eatonton, Ga., led the first 33 laps before slipping high while negotiating lapped traffic, opening the door for Overton. Smith fell to third on lap 44 before retaking the runner-up spot and finishing 0.751 of a second back at the checkers. ... Pole-starting Haiden Cowan challenged Smith in the early going before settling for third. ... Payton Freeman battled Wil Herrington in the late stages and prevailed to finish fourth, with Herrington completing the top-five finishers. ... Two-time reigning Winter Freeze winner Ross Bailes improved five positions and finished sixth aboard the Danny Hatcher-owned No. 6. ... Ray Cook gained two spots and finished seventh. ... Matt Cosner spun from ninth with a flat left-rear tire to bring out the race's third and final yellow on lap 47; he changed the tire and finished 16th. ... The second caution came out on lap 44 when fourth-running Pearson Lee Williams slowed to a stop; he was unable to continue. ... Billy Franklin spun from 21st to draw the race's first stoppage on lap seven. ... Saturday's feature lasted 25 minutes, with 18 competitors completing 50 laps and 21 running at the finish.
On the move: Carson Ferguson of Lincolnton, N.C., started 17th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Overton’s Wells & Sons Motorsports Longhorn by Wells Chassis is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from Garnto Southern, Muscle Factory, Coltman Farms Racing, Big Dog Stump & Tree, Victory Fuel, Convenient Lube, E-Z-Go, Hurst Construction, On-Point Wrap Factory, Walker Filters, Impact Race Gear, Boswell Oil, VP Racing Fuels and Midwest Sheet Metal.
Points chase: After Screven Saturday: T-1. Brandon Overton (196); T-1. Garrett Smith (196); 3. Wil Herrington (180); T-4. Ray Cook (178); T-4. Payton Freeman (178); 6. Ross Bailes (176).
Current weather: Clear, 48°F
Car count: 31
Fast qualifier: Garrett Smith
Time: 14.368 seconds
Polesitter: Haiden Cowan
Heat race winners: Haiden Cowan, Garrett Smith, Brent Dixon, Pearson Lee Williams
Consolation race winners: Carson Ferguson
Provisional starters: Billy Boyd Jr., Bo Slay, Joe Denby, Kendall Franklin
Next series race: March 2, North Alabama Speedway (Tuscumbia, AL) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: H. Cowan, Smith
Row 2: Dixon, Williams
Row 3: B. Overton, Herrington
Row 4: Freeman, D. Cook
Row 5: R. Cook, Knight
Row 6: Bailes, Brennan
Row 7: Cosner, C. Oliver
Row 8: Hicks, J. Oliver
Row 9: Ca. Ferguson, Gay
Row 10: McCoy, Ivey
Row 11: B. Franklin, Wilson
Row 12: Boyd Jr., Slay
Row 13: Denby, K. Franklin
Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information