Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1209
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/29/2024 21:13:33

Sponsor 743
September 3
Moberly Motorsports Park,
Moberly, MO
Sanction: Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association (Wiener Nationals) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series reports (last updated September 4, 4:24 am)
Pierce masters Moberly for $10,000 payday
Wiener Nationals
  1. Bobby Pierce
  2. Chris Simpson
  3. Dillon McCowan
  4. Chad Simpson
  5. Justin Duty
  6. Jeff Herzog
  7. Clay Stuckey
  8. Aaron Marrant
  9. Trevor Gundaker
  10. Daniel Hilsabeck
  11. Chad Walter
  12. Mason Oberkramer
  13. Dustin Walker
  14. Glen Powell
  15. Tracy Melloway
  16. Jon Melloway
  17. David Melloway
  18. Jimmy Dowell
  19. Dustin Hodges
  20. Kayden Clatt
  21. Dusty Leonard
  22. Matt Becker
  23. Chandler Moenning
  24. Ashlee Lancaster
  25. Derek Fetter
  26. Nathan Herne
presented by
Todd Boyd/photosbyboyd.smugmug.com
Bobby Pierce celebrates winning Moberly's Wiener Nationals.
What won the race: Polesitter Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., cruised to a flag-to-flag victory in Sunday’s Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association-sanctioned third annual Wiener Nationals at Moberly Motorsports Park. The 26-year-old finished 3.074 seconds ahead of runner-up Chris Simpson for the $10,000 payday and his 27th overall triumph of 2023.
Quotable: “The lapped cars made it a little scary sometimes,” Pierce said. “I just tried to take my time and get through it the best I could and get some distance on second. The car was really good, we didn’t have to touch it too much tonight with the track staying fast. This is one of the first races in a long time that my dad hasn’t been at. They went home to get ready for Eldora, but we were on the phone a little bit tonight.”
Key notes: Pierce, who led by more than five seconds midway through the 30-lapper, won for the second time in as many days. The World of Outlaws Case Late Model Series points leader started with Saturday's $20,000 victory at Deer Creek in Spring Valley, Minn.; combined with his runner-up WoO finish Friday at Mississippi Thunder in Fountain City, Wis., Pierce had a $40,000 weekend. … Fourth-starting Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, grabbed second from Dillon McCowan on a lap-19 restart. … Saturday’s series winner at Wheatland, Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, improved four spots to finish fourth. He broke into the top five on lap 10. … The race was slowed by four cautions, all during a stretch from lap 13-19. … Kaeden Cornell of Willard, Mo., scratched from the feature. … Fifteen of the 26 starters finished the race, with 10 on the lead lap. … The MLRA concluded its Labor Day weekend tripleheader at the track promoted by Missouri Late Model veteran Reid Millard.
On the move: Justin Duty of Molalla, Ore., started 11th and finished fifth; Clay Stuckey of Shreveport, La., started 13th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Pierce’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Hoker Trucking, Mesilla Valley Transportation, Cajun Pools & Spas, Bloomington Normal Truck Performance, Carnaghi Towing & Repair, Floyd’s Waste Systems, Vic Hill Race Engines, Swift Springs, Bilstein Shocks, Toyota of Danville, Ted Brown’s Quality Paint and Body Shop, Extreme Electric, Fast1 Speed Shop, Performance Bodies, A Plus Vacuum, Lekg Tree Service, Bert Transmission by Budda, Velocita-USA, Robert and Sons Aluminum, VP Racing Fuels and FK Rod Ends.
Points chase: After Moberly: 1. Chad Simpson (2,915); 2. Chris Simpson (2,645); 3. Dillon McCowan (2,545); 4. Daniel Hilsabeck (2,400); 5. Trevor Gundaker (2,140).
Current weather: Clear, 79°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Bobby Pierce
Time: 16.757 seconds
Polesitter: Bobby Pierce
Heat race winners: Bobby Pierce, Jeff Herzog, Mason Oberkramer
Next series race: October 12, Adams County Speedway (Quincy, IL) $7,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Pierce, Herzog
Row 2: Oberkramer, Chr. Simpson
Row 3: McCowan, Hilsabeck
Row 4: Hodges, Cha. Simpson
Row 5: Leonard, Marrant
Row 6: Duty, T. Gundaker
Row 7: Stuckey, Clatt
Row 8: Becker, Walter
Row 9: Walker, Powell
Row 10: D. Melloway, T. Melloway
Row 11: Moenning, Herne
Row 12: Dowell, Fetter
Row 13: Lancaster, Cornell
Row 14: J. Melloway

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information