Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 340
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 02/29/2024 22:39:03

Sponsor 743
September 3
Wythe Raceway,
Rural Retreat, VA
Sanction: American All-Star Series presented by PPM (Pro Late Model Nationals) - $10,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 4, 12:55 pm)
Steele survives to win Wythe's Crystal Cup finale
Pro Late Model Nationals
  1. Jeremy Steele
  2. Jesse Lowe
  3. Matt Long
  4. Jordan Hedger
  5. Jensen Ford
  6. Justin Hudspeth
  7. Josh Dietz
  8. Zach Sise
  9. Chip Brindle
  10. Jack Brown
  11. Cole Apple
  12. Tyler Smith
  13. Duke Lowe
  14. Sylvan Schuette
  15. Ryan Smith
  16. Thomas Beane
  17. Jacob Brown
  18. Jamison McBride
  19. Ross White
  20. Dillon Brown
  21. Baillie Lowe
  22. Bradley Lewelling
  23. Chub Gunter
  24. Trevor Sise
  25. Dalton Jacobs
  26. Joey Leavell
  27. Nathan Walker
presented by
Tara Chavez/peepingdragonphotography.com
Jeremy Steele grabbed a $10,000 victory at Wythe Raceway.
What won the race: Fourth-starting Jeremy Steele of York, S.C., used a turn-three slider to take the lead from Jensen Ford and paced the final 25 laps to win Sunday's 50-lap Pro Late Model Nationals at Wythe Raceway. Earning $10,000, Steele secured his second American Crate All-Star Series presented by PPM victory of the season and clinched the three-race Crystal Cup miniseries championship.
Quotable: “I’ve always loved this place, I’ve been coming here since I was a kid,” Steele said. “I hope they put this race on forever as long as I race and we get to come back. Me and (Jesse Lowe) became pretty good buddies over the last few months and I knew he was close, Dad was telling me and just knew I had to put about two good laps together and not leave that hole open for him to get there.”
Key notes: Trevor Sise led the first 13 laps from the pole before a parts failure sent him hard into the turn-three wall, ending his night. ... Ford led laps 14-25 before giving way to Steele and fading to finish fifth. ... Jesse Lowe regained the runner-up spot on a lap-41 restart and trailed Steele the rest of the way, finishing 0.583 of a second back. ... Twelfth-starting Matt Long and 11th-starting Jordan Hedger each passed Ford on lap 46, finishing third and fourth. ... Series points leader Josh Dietz started sixth and finished seventh. ... Chip Brindle and Jack Brown each improved eight positions, finishing ninth and 10th. ... Jacob Brown ran as high as fourth before pulling off on lap 28. ... Ross White ran as high as seventh before requiring a pit stop under a lap-15 caution and tagging the field; White worked his way back to 11th before a hard turn-three crash ended his night on lap 27. ... Tenth-running Dillon Brown called it a night on lap 21. ... The feature was slowed nine times, the longest being a 15-minute red flag for cleanup on lap 15. Baillie Lowe, Bradley Lewelling and Chub Gunter tangled on the backstretch, requiring a tow truck to separate their mangled machines that were sidelined for the night. ... The main event lasted more than 63 minutes with 14 drivers completing the entire distance and 15 running at the finish.
On the move: Zach Sise of Knoxville, Tenn., started 27th and finished eighth.
Winner's sponsors: Steele’s Longhorn by Wesley Page Chassis is powered by a Hendren Racing Engine and carries sponsorship from XCell Grading and Waterproofing LLC, Smith Land & Cattle, JS2 Home Builders LLC, Godfrey Builders, Carolina Fresh Farms, FK Rod Ends, Pro Fabrication, WP Racing Shocks, Indocil Art, Ntense Graphics and LJ Dezigns.
Points chase: After Wythe: 1. Josh Dietz (1,782); 2. Jesse Lowe (1,778); 3. Zach Sise (1,684); 4. Sylvan Schuette (1,405); 5. Baillie Lowe (1,234).
Current weather: Clear, 64°F
Car count: 27
Fast qualifier: Trevor Sise
Time: 17.724 seconds
Polesitter: Trevor Sise
Dash winner: Trevor Sise
Heat race winners: Dalton Jacobs, Dillon Brown, Justin Hudspeth
Next series race: September 16, Buckshot Speedway (Clanton, AL) $3,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: T. Sise, Ford
Row 2: J. Lowe, J. Steele
Row 3: Jacob Brown, Dietz
Row 4: Jacobs, D. Brown
Row 5: Hudspeth, White
Row 6: Hedger, Long
Row 7: B. Lowe, T. Smith
Row 8: McBride, Apple
Row 9: Brindle, Jack Brown
Row 10: Beane, Leavell
Row 11: Schuette, R. Smith
Row 12: Gunter, D. Lowe
Row 13: Lewelling, Walker
Row 14: Z. Sise
Sponsor 263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information