Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/02/2024 21:04:10

Sponsor 743
April 22
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Stick Elliott Memorial) - $5,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated April 24, 4:44 pm)
Watkins sweeps Cherokee's Stick Elliott Memorial
Stick Elliott Memorial
  1. Ben Watkins
  2. Benji Hicks
  3. Brett Hamm
  4. Ross Bailes
  5. Kyle Strickler
  6. Zack Mitchell
  7. Jeff Smith
  8. Gray Parton
  9. Jordan Koehler
  10. Dillon Brown
  11. Willie Milliken
  12. Adam Yarbrough
  13. John Price
  14. Johnny Pursley
  15. Ethan Wilson
  16. Cla Knight
  17. Dennis Franklin
  18. Austin Kirkpatrick
  19. Brent Dixon
  20. Richard Lynch
  21. John Henderson
  22. Anthony Sanders
  23. David Yandle
  24. Johnny Miles
presented by
What won the race: Rebounding from a crash the previous night at Lavonia (Ga.) Speedway, polesitter Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., swept Cherokee Speedway's $5,000 Carolina Clash Super Late Model action with a flag-to-flag victory in the 39th annual Stick Elliott Memorial feature. Watkins earned the ninth Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory of his career and his second of the season after winning March's season opener at Lancaster Motor Speedway.
Key notes: A night after winning his first Super Late Model race since 2018 Benji Hicks moved into the runner-up position on a lap-13 restart and finished 2.568 seconds back. ... After finishing second at Lavonia on Friday, Brett Hamm secured his second podium finish of the weekend, in third. ... Seeking his fifth feature victory at Cherokee since 2019, Ross Bailes advanced two positions and finished fourth. ... Kyle Strickler gained nine spots and finished fifth. ... Former Stick Elliott Memorial event winner Zack Mitchell started 10th and finished sixth. ... After starting the year on the World of Outlaws tour Jordan Koehler ran as high as second in the early laps before fading to finish ninth. ... Unable to complete a qualifying lap Adam Yarbrough started 24th and finished 12th. ... John Henderson was disqualified after posting the seventh-quickest time during qualifying and started 23rd; Henderson completed only 12 laps and finished 21st. ... The Stick Elliott Memorial pays tribute to Gene "Stick Elliott" Daves, one of the toughest competitors in the Carolinas with more than 400 career feature victories who died Nov. 1, 1980, at 46. … Saturday's feature was slowed by four cautions and lasted 29 minutes with 13 drivers completing 40 laps.
On the move: Kyle Strickler of Mooresville, N.C., started 14th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Watkins drives a Longhorn Chassis powered by a Clements Racing Engine with sponsorship from WP Racing Shocks, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, Sandwood Company, Craig Industries, John Page Racing, Langleys Collision Center, Bilstein Shocks, VP Racing Fuels, Allstar Performance and Collins Signs.
Points chase: After Cherokee: 1. Ben Watkins (444); 2. Brett Hamm (400); 3. Gray Parton (396); 4. Adam Yarbrough (387); 5. Jeff Smith (352).
Current weather: Clear, 52°F
Car count: 24
Fast qualifier: Ben Watkins
Time: 15.110 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Watkins
Next series race: April 29, Halifax County Motor Speedway (Brinkleyville, NC) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Watkins, Hicks
Row 2: Koehler, Parton
Row 3: Hamm, Bailes
Row 4: Smith, D. Brown
Row 5: Dixon, Mitchell
Row 6: Knight, Milliken
Row 7: Pursley, Strickler
Row 8: Kirkpatrick, Franklin
Row 9: E. Wilson, A. Sanders
Row 10: Price, Yandle
Row 11: Miles, Lynch
Row 12: Henderson, Yarbrough
Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information