Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 03/02/2024 20:32:38

Sponsor 743
July 11
Davenport Speedway,
Davenport, IA
Sanction: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series - $10,000
Information provided by: From series reports (last updated July 20, 10:51 pm)
Davenport at Davenport? J.D. rolls to $10,000 win
  1. Jonathan Davenport
  2. Devin Moran
  3. Ricky Thornton Jr.
  4. Hudson O'Neal
  5. Brian Shirley
  6. Garrett Alberson
  7. Tim McCreadie
  8. Brandon Overton
  9. Drake Troutman
  10. Max Blair
  11. Ethan Dotson
  12. Spencer Hughes
  13. Daulton Wilson
  14. Ross Robinson
  15. Justin Duty
  16. Earl Pearson Jr.
  17. Frank Heckenast Jr.
  18. Ryan Gustin
  19. Matt Furman
  20. Boom Briggs
  21. Spencer Diercks
  22. Chris Simpson
  23. Tyler Erb
  24. Tyler Bruening
presented by
Mike Ruefer/mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com
Jonathan Davenport (49) topped Devin Moran (99) in Davenport, Iowa.
What won the race: Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., regained the lead from fellow front-row starter Devin Moran on the 10th lap and cruised the rest of Tuesday’s 40-lap Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Davenport Speedway. Avoiding a few tense moments in turn four, Davenport earned $10,000 for his fourth full-field Lucas Oil Series victory of the season in taking the checkers 0.680 of a second ahead of Moran, who led laps 6-10 and cut down Davenport's three-second margin in the final laps. Series points leader Ricky Thornton Jr. ran second laps 13-29 but settled for third.
Quotable: "I knew I needed to get the lead from Devin," Davenport said of first-lap contact in turn four. "I thought I slid him pretty clean there and then he come back across the nose and I just wasn't going to lift. I'm just tired of getting run over."
Key notes: Davenport notched his 69th career series victory and first victory at Davenport. ... He has 10 victories overall in 2023. ... Davenport avoided a few issues in turn four. He made significant contact with the polesitting Moran on the first lap — hhe said he was determined not to get out of the gas on the slide job attempt — then with about 10 laps remaining, he nearly slipped over the banking, throttling up to maintain control entering the frontstretch. ... A single caution slowed the 40-lapper on lap 13 for sixth-running Tyler Erb's retirement (Chris Simpson's car overheated during the caution period). ... Scheduled to start 13th, Tyler Bruening pulled to the infield pits before the race with apparent suspension problems; he never made a lap at speed. ... The night's racing was sponsored by HD Equipment and C&J Trucking. ... The MARS Championship Series visits Davenport on July 25.
On the move: Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., started 16tth and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Davenport’s Double L Motorsports Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Nutrien Ag Solutions, ASC Warranty, Spartan Mowers, Mark Martin Automotive, Lucas Oil, Mega Plumbing of the Carolinas, VP Racing Fuels, Bilstein, Hoosier Racing Tire, Go Lithium, Midwest Sheet Metal and K1 RaceGear.
Points chase: After Davenport: 1. Ricky Thornton Jr. (4,540); 2. Hudson O’Neal (4,355); 3. Brandon Overton (4,070); 4. Tim McCreadie (3,980); 5. Jonathan Davenport (3,960); 6. Devin Moran (3,925); 7. Daulton Wilson (3,635); 8. Max Blair (3,630) 9. Tyler Erb (3,550); 10. Earl Pearson Jr. (3,520); 11. Spencer Hughes (3,495); 12. Garrett Alberson (3,345).
Current weather: Clear, 81°F
Car count: 32
Fast qualifier: Devin Moran
Time: 13.330 seconds
Polesitter: Devin Moran
Heat race winners: Devin Moran, Ricky Thornton Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Drake Troutman
Consolation race winners: Frank Heckenast Jr.
Provisional starters: Ross Robinson, Boom Briggs
Next series race: July 21, Huset’s Speedway (Brandon, SD) $53,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Moran, Davenport
Row 2: Thornton, Troutman
Row 3: T. Erb, Chr. Simpson
Row 4: Alberson, O'Neal
Row 5: Hughes, Blair
Row 6: Wilson, Overton
Row 7: Bruening, Furman
Row 8: Dotson, Shirley
Row 9: Heckenast, McCreadie
Row 10: Gustin, Diercks
Row 11: Pearson, Duty
Row 12: Robinson, Briggs

Sponsor 1263
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information