Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 04/15/2024 19:44:06

Sponsor 743
October 7
Sumter Speedway,
Sumter, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Gibbons Memorial) - $5,007
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated October 17, 8:11 pm)
Watkins's woes lift Yarbrough to Clash victory
Gibbons Memorial
  1. Adam Yarbrough
  2. Steve Banal
  3. Justin Mintz
  4. Corey Gordon
  5. Michael Marlowe
  6. Ben Watkins
  7. Brian Ridgeway
  8. David Yandle
  9. Kale Green
  10. Travis Stoner
  11. Gray Parton
  12. Hardy Youmans
  13. Deano Long
  14. Matt Pridgen
  15. David Pack
  16. Anthony Sanders
  17. Kevin Godwin
  18. James Murphy
  19. Mike Huey
presented by
Adam Yarbrough won on the Carolina Clash circuit in Sumter, S.C.
What won the race: Inheriting the lead on a lap-22 restart after race-long leader Ben Watkins had trouble and was forced to tag the field, second-starting Adam Yarbrough of Denver, N.C., led the final 19 laps to win Saturday's $5,007 fourth annual Gibbons Memorial at Sumter Speedway. Yarbrough recorded his third career Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series victory — his first since June 18, 2022, at Ultimate Motorsports Park.
Key notes: Yarbrough's triumph makes it eight winners through 11 series races this season. ... The points-leading Watkins, of Rock Hill, S.C., led the first 21 laps from the pole before drawing the race's fifth caution and tagging the field; Watkins rebounded to pass for sixth on the final lap. ... Steve Banal and Justin Mintz each improved three positions, finishing second and third; Banal crossed the checkers 1.033 seconds behind Yarbrough. ... The sixth and final yellow flew on lap 33 when ninth-running Deano Long slowed before pulling off. ... Winner of the Gibbons Memorial in 2021, Anthony Sanders retired on lap six. … One of Sumter's biggest events of the season, it honors two of the best drivers in track history: Edward “Slick” Gibbons and his son, 2001 series champion “Little Ed” Gibbons. Both enjoyed success at Sumter (Slick died in 2020 and Little Ed in 2009). ... Saturday's main event lasted 32 minutes, with 11 drivers completing 40 laps and 12 running at the finish.
On the move: Kale Green of Pelion, S.C., started 14th and finished ninth.
Winner's sponsors: Yarbrough’s Longhorn Chassis is sponsored by Yarbrough Automotive & Truck Service, KAT Industries, Inc., Judy Yarbrough Realty, H&H Auto Sales, Knox Grading, Horne Corp., Bailes Construction, ML Performance, Simpson Dock Worx, Bilstein Shocks and Big A’s Custom Graphics, with a special thanks to Joey Moriarty.
Points chase: After Sumter: 1. Ben Watkins (1,205); 2. Gray Parton (1,094); 3. David Yandle (935); 4. Adam Yarbrough (819); 5. Jeff Smith (797).
Current weather: Clear, 72°F
Car count: 19
Fast qualifier: Ben Watkins
Time: 14.793 seconds
Polesitter: Ben Watkins
Next series race: November 18, Lancaster Motor Speedway (Lancaster, SC) $10,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Watkins, Yarbrough
Row 2: Parton, Gordon
Row 3: Banal, Mintz
Row 4: Marlowe, Ridgeway
Row 5: Long, Yandle
Row 6: Stoner, A. Sanders
Row 7: Pridgen, Green
Row 8: Youmans, Murphy
Row 9: Godwin, Pack
Row 10: Huey

Sponsor 1269
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information