Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/21/2024 19:52:44

Sponsor 743
June 18
East Alabama Motor Speedway,
Phenix City, AL
Sanction: XR Southern All Star Series - $5,050
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated June 19, 3:31 am)
Seawright steals first SAS win at EAMS
  1. Sam Seawright
  2. Pearson Lee Williams
  3. Clint Smith
  4. Todd Morrow
  5. Dylan Knowles
  6. Cody Overton
  7. Parker Martin
  8. Corey Roulette
  9. Billy Franklin
  10. Dillon Tidmore
  11. Dalton Cook
  12. J.R. Moseley
  13. Jordy Nipper
  14. Shay Miller
  15. Dennis Hale
  16. Matt Dooley
  17. Cruz Skinner
  18. Shun Thomas
  19. Marty Lunsford
  20. Shane Fulcher
presented by
Austin Thomason
Sam Seawright and team members at East Alabama Motor Speedway.
What won the race: Sixth-starting Sam Seawright of Rainsville, Ala., executed a last-lap slider on Pearson Lee Williams of Dublin, Ga., entering turn one. Williams attempted a slider of his own in turn three, but Seawright carried momentum to his first career XR Southern All Star Dirt Series feature victory at East Alabama Motor Speedway on Saturday, collecting $5,050.
Quotable: "The last lap I went down there in (turn) three and I never cracked the throttle," Seawright said. "I was driving it as hard as I could. I had so much fun racing with Pearson, he raced me clean. I hope I didn't get into him."
Key notes: Seawright led just one lap throughout the entire 50-lap main event. ... Williams used a slider of his own to initially gain the lead on lap 30 and paced the field through lap 49 before settling for the runner-up position, 0.780 seconds behind Seawright. ... Moving into third place on lap 32, Clint Smith of Senoia, Ga., completed the podium. ... After leading laps eight through 29, polesitter Cody Overton of Evans, Ga., faded to finish sixth. ... Dalton Cook of Columbus, Ga., led the first seven laps and threw a bold third-to-first slider for the lead on lap 29, before suffering mechanical problems on lap 32 and finishing 11th. ... After winning last week at Columbus Speedway (Miss.), series point leader Matt Dooley of Fayetteville, Ga., suffered mechanical problems on lap 16 and finished 16th. ... Saturday's feature had three lead changes among four drivers (Cook led 1-7; Overton 8-29; Williams 30-49; and Seawright lap 50). ... The race was slowed by five cautions and lasted 30 minutes, with eight competitors completing 50 laps.
On the move: Parker Martin of Milledgeville, Ga., started 18th and finished seventh.
Winner's sponsors: Seawright’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Agcor Steel, J&R Lumber, Farm Systems Inc., Grow Pediatric Therapy and Stuckey Enterprises.
Points chase: Before East Alabama: 1. Matt Dooley (828); 2. Billy Franklin (750); 3. Shay Miller (646); 4. Josh Putnam (498); 5. Austin Franklin (284).
Current weather: Clear, 79°F
Car count: 20
Fast qualifier: Dalton Cook
Time: 14.780 seconds
Polesitter: Cody Overton
Heat race winners: Cody Overton, Dalton Cook
Next series race: June 25, Buckshot Speedway (Clanton, AL) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: C. Overton, Cook
Row 2: Roulette, Williams
Row 3: Franklin, Seawright
Row 4: Smith, Moseley
Row 5: Hale, Knowles
Row 6: Morrow, Nipper
Row 7: Dooley, Tidmore
Row 8: Skinner, Miller
Row 9: Thomas, Martin
Row 10: Fulcher, Lunsford
Row 11: Doar, Adams
Row 12: Burdick, Jordan Tollakson

Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information