Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1264
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/21/2024 18:11:17

Sponsor 743
September 4
Cherokee Speedway,
Gaffney, SC
Sanction: Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series (Hall of Fame 50) - $7,500
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 5, 6:25 am)
Bailes bags Cherokee's Hall of Fame 50, $7,500
Hall of Fame 50
  1. Ross Bailes
  2. Ben Watkins
  3. Dennis Franklin
  4. Anthony Sanders
  5. Dale Timms
  6. Bryson Harper
  7. Adam Yarbrough
  8. John Price
  9. Jeff Smith
  10. Mike Huey
  11. David Yandle
  12. Doug Sanders
  13. Thomas Robinson
  14. Ethan Wilson
  15. Brian Ledbetter
  16. Larry Grube
  17. Johnny Pursley
  18. Ernie Groomes
presented by
What won the race: Taking advantage of race-long leader John Price's flat tire on lap 34, Ross Bailes of Clover, S.C., inherited the lead and paced Sunday's final 17 circuits at Cherokee Speedway in the Hall of Fame 50 feature, collecting $7,500.
Quotable: "You know the racing gods were looking after us tonight," Bailes said. "I hate that happened to (John) Price and Ben (Watkins) had a run on that restart if the caution didn't come out, he would've had the lead, but sometimes it goes your way."
Key notes: The victory is the 23rd of Bailes' career with the Carolina Clash Super Late Model Series and his series-leading sixth at Cherokee, including his second-straight Hall of Fame 50 triumph. ... Three-time series winner Ben Watkins of Rock Hill, S.C., overtook Bailes on the lap-34 restart before a caution thwarted his attempt, forcing him to settle for the runner-up position, 1.626 seconds back. ... Second-starting John Price of Mill Spring, N.C., led 33 laps before a hole in his tire forced him pitside on the lap-34 restart. Price's team changed the tire and he finished eighth. ... There were three other right-rear tire failures throughout the 50-lap race: Mike Huey and Doug Sanders lost theirs on lap 47, bringing out the final caution. David Yandle lost his right-rear tire on the last lap and limped across the line in 11th. ... After being inducted into the Cherokee Hall of Fame, Jeff Smith of Rocky Face, Ga., overcame an early spin to finish ninth. ... Sunday's feature, the 34th visit to Cherokee for the Carolina Clash tour, was slowed by five cautions and lasted 35 minutes, with 11 competitors completing 50 laps. … The series returns to the Gaffney, S.C., oval Nov. 21 for a $7,500-to-win event.
On the move: Anthony Sanders of Spartanburg, S.C., started ninth and finished fourth.
Winner's sponsors: Bailes drove a Billy Hicks-owned Longhorn Chassis powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by H&H Auto Sales, Lawson Trucking, Felony Farms, Bailes Construction, Hoosier Tire South, Fred Caldwell Chevrolet and Bilstein Shocks.
Points chase: Before Cherokee: 1. Dennis Franklin (1,059); 2. Adam Yarbrough (1,011); 3. Mike Huey (920); 4. David Yandle (912); 5. John Price (840).
Current weather: Overcast, 73°F
Car count: 18
Fast qualifier: Ross Bailes
Time: 15.060 seconds
Polesitter: Ross Bailes
Next series race: September 17, County Line Raceway (Elm City, NC) $4,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Bailes, Price
Row 2: Franklin, Harper
Row 3: Watkins, Robinson
Row 4: Timms, Pursley
Row 5: A. Sanders, Yarbrough
Row 6: Smith, D. Sanders
Row 7: Wilson, Huey
Row 8: Yandle, Grube
Row 9: Ledbetter, Groomes
Sponsor 1192
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information