Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 06:42:03

Sponsor 743
September 5
Boone Speedway,
Boone, IA
Sanction: IMCA Late Models (Speedway Motors Super Nationals) - $3,000
Information provided by: Bill Martin and track reports (last updated September 7, 11:09 am)
Dumpert rallies for Boone Super Nationals victory
Speedway Motors Super Nationals
  1. Cory Dumpert
  2. Jeff Aikey
  3. Dean Abbey
  4. Dustin Schram
  5. Joel Callahan
  6. Darrel DeFrance
  7. Mitch Manternach
  8. Bryan Klein
  9. Andy Nezworski
  10. Jesse Sobbing
  11. Joe Beal
  12. Andy Eickhoff
  13. Justin O'Brien
  14. Blair Kraus
  15. Dalton Simonsen
  16. Gary Webb
  17. Matt Ryan
  18. Nick Marolf
  19. Richie Gustin
  20. Jake Bridge
  21. Fred Remley
  22. Sean Johnson
  23. Brandon Rothzen
  24. Cole Wayman
presented by
Tom Macht/photofinishphotos.com
Cory Dumpert is welcomed to Boone’s victory lane.
What won the race: Rallying from his 11th starting spot at Boone Speedway, Cory Dumpert overtook Dean Abbey amid traffic on the 41st lap and led the rest of the 50-lap Late Model feature at IMCA's Speedway Motor's Super Nationals. Dumpert earned $3,000 in taking the checkers 0.297 of a second ahead of polesitter Jeff Aikey, a six-time race winner. Aikey led 38 laps but lost the lead to third-finishing Dean Abbey, who led lap 40 after making contact with Aikey's right-rear quarterpanel, unsettling the leader's car exiting turn two.
Quotable: “Early on, I told myself to be patient and I was able to pass cars one or two at a time. I looked up, saw I was in fifth and thought ‘Holy crap.’ The next thing I knew I was in third,” Dumpert said. “Once I got to the front I tried to hit my marks, keep the car straight and told myself it was my race to lose now.”
Key notes: Dumpert, who finished second last year, won the Super Nationals for the first time. He notched his 18th feature victory of 2022. ... The last of five cautions appeared on lap 48 when Matt Ryan spun with a flat left-rear tire. ... Bryan Klein spun in turn four for a lap-47 yellow (during the slowdown, Jeff Aikey and Dean Abbey exchanged pleasantries in their dispute over their lap-40 contact; and just after Klein had spun, Nick Marolf and Jesse Sobbing made contact entering turn one while battling for fourth with Sobbing going for 360-degree spin). ... Sobbing was strong early and edged ahead to lead the 10th lap after making slight contact with Aikey exiting turn four, but Aikey quickly regained the lead on lap 11. ... Sobbing fell to fourth from second on lap 26 when he got hung up behind Gary Webb's slower car. ... A lap-three caution flew for Andy Eickhoff's turn-one spin. ... The race required three starts before a lap was completed (Bryan Klein spun in turn two, then a multicar scramble that left Brandon Rothzen and Eickhoff hooked together). ... Sixteen drivers were running at the finish. ... The Late Models made their 33rd Super Nationals appearance and the 41 entries was the most in 10 years.
On the move: Winner Cory Dumpert started 11th; Joel Callahan of Dubuque, Iowa, started 14th and finished fifth.
Winner's sponsors: Dumpert's car is sponsored by Doran Post & Associates, LG Pumping, Friesen Performance, L&M Steel Trucking, Triple F Roofing, Progressive Fertilizer, Safranek Racing and BSB Manufacturing.
Points chase: Cory Dumpert leads IMCA's weekly points.
Current weather: Clear, 66°F
Car count: 41
Polesitter: Zeke McQueen
Heat race winners: Matt Ryan, Darrel DeFrance, Jesse Sobbing, Nick Marolf, Jeff Aikey
Consolation race winners: Cory Dumpert, Richie Gustin
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Aikey, Beal
Row 2: Klein, Sobbing
Row 3: Abbey, DeFrance
Row 4: Ryan, Marolf
Row 5: Manternach, Schram
Row 6: Dumpert, Ri. Gustin
Row 7: Wayman, Callahan
Row 8: Rothzen, Eickhoff
Row 9: Kraus, Simonsen
Row 10: Bridge, O'Brien
Row 11: Webb, Remley
Row 12: Johnson, Nezworski

Sponsor 682
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information