Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525

Daily Dirt 06/19/2024 06:29:58

Sponsor 743
September 6
Boone Speedway,
Boone, IA
Sanction: IMCA Late Models (IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals) - $3,000
Information provided by: Series and track reports (last updated September 7, 3:33 am)
Kay outruns Dumpert for first Boone Nationals win
IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals
  1. Justin Kay
  2. Cory Dumpert
  3. Richie Gustin
  4. Jeff Aikey
  5. Andy Nezworski
  6. Brandon Rothzen
  7. Jesse Sobbing
  8. Nick Marolf
  9. Bobby Hansen
  10. Darrel DeFrance
  11. Greg Krohn
  12. Joe Zrostlik
  13. Gary Webb
  14. Jon Passick
  15. Bryan Molt
  16. Kevin Kirkpatrick
  17. Logan Duffy
  18. Andrew Tilley
  19. Bryan Moreland
  20. Jacob Waterman
  21. Blair Kraus
  22. Alex Banks
  23. Mitch Manternach
  24. Todd Cooney
presented by
Tom Macht/photofinishphotos.com
Justin Kay (15K) and Cory Dumpert (77) battle at Boone Speedway.
What won the race: Polesitter Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, outran Cory Dumpert on Monday at Boone Speedway for a $3,000 victory on the opening night of the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals. Kay won an early lead-swapping battle with the third-starting Dumpert, then turned back Dumpert's lap-36 slide job attempt and pulled away late in the Labor Day 50-lapper.
Quotable: "With Richie (Gustin) running third and (Cory) Dumpert running second, (Jeff) Aikey was up there somewhere, too," Kay said. "Them guys, between Richie and Aikey they've won this race so many times, and Dumpert's been really good right now. He slid me there a couple of times and it was pretty fun to be able to do it back to him. I don't do that real often so that was fun."
Key notes: Kay had entered eight previous Boone Super Nationals events with three runner-up finishes. ... A dozen drivers completed 50 laps. ... Kevin Kirkpatrick got into the wall for a lap-35 yellow. ... Three-time Super Nationals winner Todd Cooney was the first retiree. ... Kay's victory ended the two-year streak of Ricky Thornton Jr. of Chandler, Ariz., who didn't enter this season after winning in 2019-20 in Cooney's machine.
On the move: Richie Gustin of Gilman, Iowa, started ninth and finished third.
Winner's sponsors: Kay’s MasterSbilt Race Car has a Grove Automotive powerplant and sponsorship from Mycogen Seeds, Dow, Hoker Trucking, Wehrs Machine, Petersen Insurance, Wheatland Ag Center, Kay Farms & Elevator, Wheatland Auto Body, JR’s Place, Heinee Jo’s, Doug Nigh’s RPMs, Kay Automotive and Ricky R. Kay & Son’s Trucking.
Points chase: IMCA weekly points before Boone: 1. Cory Dumpert (795); 2. Justin Kay (793); 3. Matt Ryan (778); 4. Andy Nezworski (771); 5. Logan Duffy (769).
Current weather: Clear, 75°F
Car count: 36
Polesitter: Justin Kay
Heat race winners: Nick Marolf, Todd Cooney, Bobby Hansen, Logan Duffy
Consolation race winners: Alex Banks, Blair Kraus
Next series race: September 11, Pepsi Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA) $5,000
Editor's note: Results and race details are unofficial.

Feature lineup

Row 1: Kay, Hansen
Row 2: Dumpert, Duffy
Row 3: Nezworski, Aikey
Row 4: Cooney, Krohn
Row 5: Gustin, Marolf
Row 6: Zrostlik, Tilley
Row 7: Banks, Kraus
Row 8: Rothzen, Moreland
Row 9: Manternach, DeFrance
Row 10: Sobbing, Webb
Row 11: Waterman, Kirkpatrick
Row 12: Molt, Passick

Sponsor 924
Sponsor 1249
Sponsor 728
©2006-Present FloSports, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy Policy | Cookie Preferences / Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information