Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway

Barbara tops Johnson, captures Pittsburgher

September 18, 2011, 7:24 am
From correspondent reports
Keith Barbara (17) makes the winning pass on Davey Johnson (1j). (Jason Shank)
Keith Barbara (17) makes the winning pass on Davey Johnson (1j). (Jason Shank)

IMPERIAL, Pa. (Sept. 17) — Keith Barbara of South Park, Pa., made a late-race pass on multitime Pittsburgher champion Davey Johnson of Latrobe, Pa., Saturday to capture Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway's biggest race.

The 10th-starting Barbara earned $7,000 for the 66-lap Pittsburgher victory while Johnson settled for second at the massive half-mile oval. Eighteenth-starting Alex Ferree of Saxonburg, Pa., rallied after a consolation race victory to finish third while Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., the $2,000 winner of Friday's tuneup feature, was fourth. | Slideshow

Brandon Burgoon of McDonald, Pa., who led early in the main event before giving up the lead to Johnson, rounded out the top five in a race co-sanctioned by the UFO Race Championship Series and Northern Tier United Late Model Series.

Jared Miley of South Park overtook Johnson on lap 46, but a broken crankshaft ended Miley's run and put Johnson back out front before Barbara's high-side charge led to victory.

Pittsburgher: (1) Keith Barbara, (2) Davey Johnson, (3) Alex Ferree, (4) Gregg Satterlee, (5) Brandon Burgoon, (6) Lynn Geisler, (7) Matt Lux, (8) Michael Norris, (9) John Garvin Jr., (10) Jim Stephans, (11) Dennis Lunger, (12) Mike Johnson, (13) Michael Davis, (14) Ben Miley, (15) Kyle Lukon, (16) Dylan Yoder, (17) Jim Lepro, (18) John Mollick, (19) Daryl Charlier, (20) Danny Mitchell, (21) Mike Basich, (22) Tony Musolino, (23) Jared Miley, (24) Kari Gasser, (25) Devin Friese, (26) Quintin Wyandt, (27) Jacob Hawkins, (28) Steve Baker, (29) Chad McClellan, (30) Dave Hess Jr., (31) Brian Ruhlman, (32) Jared Hawkins. Heat race winners (among 38 cars): Lynn Geisler, Steve Baker, Michael Davis, Davey Johnson. Consolation winners: Matt Lux, Alex Ferree.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728