Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

East Bay Raceway Park

Nosbisch pockets $5,000 in finale at East Bay

February 9, 2014, 7:54 am
East Bay Raceway Park
Keith Nosbisch heads to victory at East Bay. (Mike Horne)
Keith Nosbisch heads to victory at East Bay. (Mike Horne)

GIBSONTON, Fla. (Feb. 8) — Keith Nosbisch of Valrico, Fla., capped the Crate Late Model portion of East Bay Raceway Park’s 38th annual Winternationals with a $5,000 victory in Saturday’s finale.

The veteran East Bay driver, who joked in victory lane that practicing at a slick go-kart track earlier in the day gave him an edge, took the lead from polesitter Josh Peacock of Dover, Fla., inside turn three on the second lap and was never headed.

Nosbisch took the checkers ahead of Doug Horton of Bruceton Mills, W.Va., while Dalton Myers of Riverview, Fla., was third. Peacock and Shan Smith of Dade City, Fla., rounded out the top five in the 50-lapper.

Nosbisch survived a stretch of 11 caution flags over the first 24 laps, but had mostly clear sailing the second half of the race. Although Nosbisch seemed to slow a bit late, Horton wasn’t able to make a serious challenge in finishing 1.41 seconds back.

Notes: Nosbisch’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Image Skin Care and Adams Automotive. … Only four drivers finished on the lead lap. … Richie Stephens of Salem, Ala., earned $1,500 for winning the World Street Stock Championship. … The Winternationals continue with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series. Practice is scheduled for Sunday with points races scheduled for Feb. 10-15, including a live telecast at 9:30 p.m. Thursday on MavTV.

Winternationals: (1) Keith Nosbisch, (2) Doug Horton, (3) Dalton Myers, (4) Josh Peacock, (5) Shan Smith, (6) David Schmauss, (7) Tommy Prince, (8) Bill Tesh, (9) Kyle Musselman, (10) Kurt Waush, (11) Jack Nosbisch Jr., (12) Steve Miller, (13) Kolby Vanderbergh, (14) Mavrick Varnadore, (15) Bobby Richardson, (16) Phillip Cobb, (17) Derek Brown, (18) Megan Meyer, (19) Jamie Slatton, (20) Steven Mathis Jr., (21) Bryan Bernhardt, (22) Bob Gardner, (23) David Pollen Jr., (24) Jeremy Adamik. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Peacock, J. Nosbisch, K. Nosbisch.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728