Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Wythe Raceway

Defending Fastrak champ wins $2,000 at Wythe

September 3, 2011, 11:39 am
From series reports
David Smith celebrates his $2,000 Fastrak victory. (Gary Laster)
David Smith celebrates his $2,000 Fastrak victory. (Gary Laster)

RURAL RETREAT, Va. (Sept 2) – Defending series champion David Smith of Inman, S.C., scored a $2,000 victory Friday night at Wythe Raceway in the 40-lap Fastrak Southeastern Touring Series feature for Crate Late Models.

Smith led flag-to-flag in the event that was the first round of a doubleheader weekend for the series at the half-mile racetrack. Hometown driver Brandon Umberger was second at the finish followed by Travis Blackwell of Lyman, S.C. Matt Long of Concord, N.C., and Jake Eaton of Bland, Va., rounded out the top five.

The series will compete for $3000 in Saturday night’s finale with the Ultimate Late Model Series also on hand for a $4,000-to-win event. Chris Madden of Gray Court, S.C., won Friday’s Ultimate Late Model Series feature.

Fastrak @ Wythe: (1) David Smith, (2) Brandon Umberger, (3) Travis Blackwell, (4) Matt Long, (5) Jake Eaton, (6) Lee Cooper, (7) Dennis Franklin, (8) Jason Welshan, (9) Daniel Baggerly, (10) Vic Chandler, (11) Brian Connor, (12) Blake Bentley, (13) Brian Ligon, (14) Tim Byrd, (15) Chad Hale, (16) R.K. Dix, (17) Barry Arnold, (18) Winky McGee, (19) Mack McCarter, (20)Teddy Tate, (21) Ryan Atkins, (22) Clinton Cook, (23) Jordan Dill, (24) Jensen Ford, (25) Kenny Peoples, (26) Chase McCormick, (27) Michael Smith. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Smith, 18.186 seconds. Consolation race winners: Chandler, Arnold.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728