Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Friendship Motor Speedway

Mitchell tops Parker for NDRA victory at Elkin

July 18, 2011, 10:06 am
From series reports
Zack Mitchell (57) fended off challenges from Ron Parker (8). (Gary Laster)
Zack Mitchell (57) fended off challenges from Ron Parker (8). (Gary Laster)

ELKIN, N.C. (July 16) — Series points leader Zack Mitchell of Enoree, S.C., started on the pole Saturday at Friendship Motor Speedway and led all 40 laps for an NDRA Road Show victory presented by Heintz Performance. The 15-year-old driver earned $2,000 for the victory. | Slideshow

Mitchell faced pressure from fast qualifier Ron Parker of Lawndale, N.C., particularly over the final 10 laps has Parked pulled nearly alongside exiting turn two. But Mitchell held on for the victory, leaving Parker to settle for second.

Steve Hendren of Rutherfordton, N.C., advanced nine positions to finish third followed by 14th-starting Dennis Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., and outside front-row starter Anthony Sanders of Spartanburg, S.C.

The most serious caution appeared on the 22nd lap when Chris Cheek and Furman Parton tangled exiting turn four while battling for the eighth spot, blocking the frontstretch. Nearly half the field sustained damage but only Seth Key was done for the night.

Notes: Mitchell's MasterSbilt Race Car is powered by a Clements Racing Engine and sponsored by Hamrick's of Gaffney, Clary Hood Inc., and Marvin Lawson Motorsports. ... Chase McCormick slowed the bring out the first caution. ... Next up for NDRA Road Show competitors is a July 30 event at Lancaster (S.C.) Speedway.

NDRA @ Friendship: (1) Zack Mitchell, (2) Ron Parker, (3) Steve Hendren, (4) Dennis Franklin, (5) Anthony Sanders, (6) Justin Hudspeth, (7) Ricky Weeks, (8) Furman Parton, (9) Jimmy Schiltz, (10) Pat Lindsay, (11) Kenny Rominger Jr., (12) Greg Barker, (13) Chris Cheek, (14) Brent Hall, (15) Joe Gwilt, (16) Wayne Quesinberry, (17) Kent Peckham, (18) Chase McCormick, (19) Doug Sanders, (20) Seth Key, (21) Ryan Atkins, (22) Brandon Umberger, (23) Keith Holder. Fast qualifier (among 23 cars): Parker.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728