Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1198
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Grays Harbor Raceway

Tanner rules Grays Harbor for DAA victory

June 26, 2011, 7:33 pm
By Steve Reeck
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Joey Tanner (111) kept Billy Workman Jr. (64) in check all 40 laps. (Steve Reeck)
Joey Tanner (111) kept Billy Workman Jr. (64) in check all 40 laps. (Steve Reeck)

ELMA, Wash. (June 25) — Polesitter Joey Tanner of Portland, Ore., held off fellow front-row starter Billy Workman Jr. of Canby, Ore., Saturday at Grays Harbor Raceway for a 40-lap DAA Extreme Dirt Car Series victory. He earned $1,000 for the Crate Late Model victory. | Slideshow

At the outset, Workman edged ahead down the backstretch on the first lap, but Tanner nosed back out front to lead the first lap. A second-lap caution appeared for Doug Trout's spin, and Mike Kelley stopped on the backstretch at the same time.

That was the only caution as Tanner led Workman throughout the race. Workman summoned a last-lap challenge on the outside coming to the checkered flag but it fell short.

Jason Wines of Lebanon, Ore., was third followed by Gret Walters of Banks, Ore., and Jerry Schram of Vancouver, Wash.

Notes: Tanner is sponsored by Budweiser and Jody’s Bar & Grill. ... Nine drivers finished on the lead lap. ... Mike Kelley was the only driver who failed to finish; he completed five laps. ... Russel Schultz missed time trials while his team solved an issue with a stuck throttle. ... The series returns to action July 9 at Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, Ore.

DAA @ Grays Harbor: (1) Joey Tanner, (2) Billy Workman Jr., (3) Jason Wines, (4) Greg Walters, (5) Jerry Schram, (6) Terry Ferrando, (7) Jimmy Schram, (8) Rob Ireland, (9) Tim Goodwin, (10) Steve Moore, (11) Colin Wineberger, (12) Steve Suckow, (13) Scott Punchocar, (14) Britton Donahoo, (15) Bob Trout, (16) Jason Johnson, (17) Doug Trout, (18) Russel Schultz, (19) Mike Keeley. Fast qualifier (among 19 cars): Walters, 16.094 seconds. Heat race winners: Wines, Tanner. Dash winner: Tanner.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728