Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lernerville Speedway

King tops Blair at Lernerville's Emig Memorial

May 30, 2011, 11:07 pm
From track reports
Russ King (56), in a four-wide battle, came out on top Monday at Lernerville. (stivasonphotos.com)
Russ King (56), in a four-wide battle, came out on top Monday at Lernerville. (stivasonphotos.com)

Editor's note: On June 8, Fastrak Northeast disqualified apparent winner Russ King, saying he used illegally altered tires.

SARVER, Pa. (May 30) — Russ King of Bristolville, Ohio, overtook Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., on the 15th lap Monday at Lernerville Speedway and raced to a victory on the Fastrak Northeast touring series for Crate Late Models.

King, the 2009 World of Outlaws Late Model Series Rookie of the Year, earned $1,500 for a victory in the Bill Emig Memorial, which drew 46 entries.

"I was rolling around good on the outside and I knew I was pretty good when I passed Max," the 22-year-old King said. "I just steered clear of the lapped cars, but I never let my guard down. Robbie (Blair) was good on the bottom and he's the type of guy that will search around and find the right line."

Blair settled for second while his father Robbie Blair of Titusville, Pa., crossed the line third. Mike Pegher Jr. of Wexford, Pa., and Joe Martin of Mayport, Pa., who led the first three laps, rounded out the top five.

The race was on the undercard for the opening event of the USAC Wingless Sprint Eastern Storm through Pennsylvania. Jon Stanbrough earned $6,000 for the feature victory.

Bill Emig Memorial: (1) Russ King, (2) Max Blair, (3) Robbie Blair, (4) Mike Pegher Jr., (5) Joe Martin, (6) Steve Dixon, (7) Josh Holtgraver, (8) John Volpe, (9) Mike Blose, (10) Kyle Lukon, (11) Dan Angelicchio, (12) Rocky Kugel, (13) Bobby Whitling, (14) Josh Double, (15) Kyle Zimmerman, (16) Michael Mitchell, (17) Mike Laughard, (18) Kyle Thomas, (19) Shane Hitt, (20) Ricky Meglaye, (21) Butch Lambert, (22) Billy Stile III, (23) Colton Flinner, (24) George Kowatic. Heat race winners (among 46 cars): Hitt, Stile, King, Dixon, Pegher. Consolation race winners: Meglaye, Lambert. Non-qualifiers' race winner: Brian Lessley.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728