Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Southern Oregon Speedway

Walters wins DAA finale, gets $5,000 series title

September 28, 2010, 8:52 am
From series reports
Greg Walters heads for his victory and championship. (Steve Reeck)
Greg Walters heads for his victory and championship. (Steve Reeck)

MEDFORD, Ore. (Sept. 24-25) — Greg Walters of Banks, Ore., captured the DAA Northwest Crate Late Model Series finale Saturday at Southern Oregon Speedway and edged Jason Wines of Lebanon, Ore., for the championship on the first-year tour.

Walters, who entered the event two points behind Wines in the title chase, got the jump from outside the front-row and held off repeated challenges from Wines throughout the 40-lap Roger Lorenzini Memorial Battle of the Border feature. | Slideshow

Walters earned $1,000 for the victory and $5,000 for the championship in a season where he won a series-best six features.

Wines finished second in the race (and the title chase) while Steve Moore, Joey Tanner and polesitter Brady Sell rounded out the top five.

Notes: Walters drives a Rayburn Race Car powered by a Mick Gray Racing Engine and sponsored by War Paint Graphics, Schram Brothers Excavating, T&G Trucking, Rogers Repair, and waltersracing.com. ... The series is sponsored by Sherwin Williams. ... Engine builder Mick Gray died earlier in the week after a bout with cancer. ... Kevin Keeney of Sweet Home, Ore., drove Kris Pickle's No. 777 and Russell Schultz piloted Brittany Ray's No. 12. ... Eight cars finished on the lead lap. ... Fourteen of 16 starters were running at the finish.

DAA Northwest @ Southern Oregon: (1) Greg Walters, (2) Jason Wines, (3) Steve Moore, (4) Joey Tanner, (5) Brady Sell, (6) Billy Workman Jr., (7) Clay Daly, (8) Jerry Schram, (9) Bob Trout, (10) Russ Sell, (11) Jimmy Schram, (12) Kevin Keeney, (13) Brett James, (14) Doug Trout (15) Brittany Ray, (16) Britton Donahoo. Fast qualifier (among 16 cars): Moore, 14.696 seconds. Dash winner: Daly. Heat race winners: Russell Schultz, Russ Sell.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728