Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Ponderosa Speedway

Coffman's DQ hands Ponderosa victory to Blackwood

September 4, 2010, 10:57 am
By Michael Despain
Ponderosa Speedway
Zak Blackwood (93) battles at Ponderosa. (Derek Strader)
Zak Blackwood (93) battles at Ponderosa. (Derek Strader)

JUNCTION CITY, Ky. (Sept. 3) — Hometown driver Todd Coffman led all but one lap at Ponderosa Speedway, but he lost an Indiana Late Model Series event at the scales Friday when he weighed in too light. His disqualification handed the Crate Late Model touring victory to Zak Blackwood of Columbus, Ind.

Blackwood earned $1,000 for his third victory in the last four series races.

P.J. Feistritzer got second followed by John Mulligan, who led the first lap. Joe Godsey and Jeff Johnson rounded out the top five as the series made its first stop of the season at the 3/8-mile oval.

Notes: Blackwood's Rayburn Race Car is sponsored by Blackwood Lawn and Landscape, Lucas Oil, DMB Embroidery, Kevin’s Pool Service, Dirt-B-Gone, M. Hobbs, Weller Roofing, Mike Burton, Travis Kern Race Engines, Carpet Mania and C&R Inc. .... Clarence Belcher had a lap-17 flat tire. ... Jeff Rawlings spun on lap 26 for a yellow flag. ... Steve Godsey rallied from his 20th starting spot to finish sixth. ... David Webb won the night's Super Late Model feature. ... ILMS competitors head to Twin Cities Raceway Park in North Vernon, Ind., on Saturday.

ILMS @ Ponderosa: (1) Zac Blackwood, (2) P.J. Feistritzer, (3) John Mulligan, (4) Joe Godsey, (5) Jeff Johnson, (6) Steve Godsey, (7) Alan Magner, (8) Edgar Godsey, (9) Gary Yeager, (10) Lindsey Wade, (11) Josh Hampton, (12) Dusty Maybrier, (13) Billy Wooldridge, (14) Todd Mingey, (15) Steve Davis, (16) Terry Romans, (17) James Griffith, (18) Jeff Rawlings, (19) Clarence Belcher, (20) Greg Kendall, (21) Johnny Lee. Disqualified: Todd Coffman. Fast qualifier (among 22 cars): Maybrier, 14.235 seconds. Heat race winners: Mulligan, Coffman, Kendall.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728