Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Sunset Speedway Park

Workman fights off Wines for $3,000 DAA victory

July 19, 2010, 1:18 pm
By Steve Reeck
DAA Northwest Crate Late Model Series
Billy Workman Jr. emerges from his winning car. (Steve Reeck)
Billy Workman Jr. emerges from his winning car. (Steve Reeck)

BANKS, Ore. (July 17) — Billy Workman Jr. of Canby, Ore., outdueled polesitter and fellow front-row starter Jason Wines of Lebanon throughout a 40-lapper at Sunset Speedway Park for a $3,000 victory on the DAA Northwest Crate Late Model Series. | Slideshow

Wines settled for second followed by Steve Moore of Scio, Ore., hometown driver Greg Walters and Eric Sawyer.

At the outset of the feature, Workman went to the high-side cushion while Wines ran the low groove. The frontrunners ran side-by-side many laps before Workman edged ahead, and lap-12 caution appeared for Brandon Biffle’s flat tire.

Wines was back to third on the restart, but he regained second from Moore and again began a duel up front with Workman. He slipped behind Moore again before. Cody Sell got into the wall in turns three and four to halt the race briefly.

Wines went to work again on the restart, at one point clearing Workman briefly. But the 19-year-old Workman worked back ahead and completed his biggest career victory.

Notes: Workman’s No. 64 is sponsored by topohillrv.com. ... The series is presented by Sherwin-Williams automotive finishes. ... The Greg Biffle Foundation sponsored the night’s action, and the NASCAR driver was on hand during a rare off-weekend. ... Fast qualifier Brandon Biffle drove the backup car of Greg Walters. ... Terry Ferrando’s 15th-to-ninth run made him the hard charger. ... Next up for DAA Northwest tour competitors is a July 31 event at Willamette Speedway in Lebanon, Ore.

DAA Northwest @ Sunset: (1) Billy Workman Jr., (2) Jason Wines, (3) Steve Moore, (4) Greg Walters, (5) Eric Sawyer, (6) Brady Sell, (7) Casey Vitale, (8) Jimmy Schram, (9) Terry Ferrando, (10) Jerry Schram, (11) Jeff Biffle, (12) Steve Suckow, (13) Scott Puncochar, (14) Brett James, (15) Brandon Biffle, (16) Brady Sell. Fast qualifier (among 22 cars): B. Biffle, 14.301 seconds. Heat race winners: Puncochar, James, Walters. Consolation winner: James.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728