Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Whynot Motorsports Park

McRee's third-to-first move leads to Whynot victory

July 1, 2010, 1:18 am
By Roby Helm
NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series
Justin McRee heads for victory. (theinfieldidiot.com)
Justin McRee heads for victory. (theinfieldidiot.com)

MERIDIAN, Miss. (June 25) — Justin McRee of Tuscaloosa, Ala., rode the high line to his first NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series victory of the season on Friday to open the Coca-Cola Nationals in the Dasani Water 40 at Whynot Motorsports Park.

McRee led a total of 21 laps in an exciting side-by-side duel with Mike Boland of Cuba, Ala., who made strong challenges for the point on both the inside and outside grooves, and even led one lap. But McRee got to the checkered flag first while Boland had to settle for second place.

McRee went from third to first on a lap-19 restart on his cushion-riding run to victory.

“I lifted my visor up during a caution flag and took a good look at the high side of the track,” McRee said. “I saw enough moisture in the clay up there, and the way it worked out, I restarted on the outside, and we were fast up there when the green flag came back out to take the lead.”

Hometown driver Larry Murphy finished third while 2008 series champ Chip Brindle of Chatsworth, Ga., was fourth. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala., rounded out the top five. Larry Harrod of Plains, Ga., led the first 18 laps but got tangled up with a lapped car and spun into the backstretch wall.

Dasani Water 40: (1) Justin McRee, (2) Mike Boland, (3) Larry Murphy, (4) Chip Brindle, (5) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (6) Matthew Turner, (7) Eric Cooley, (8) Jim McDuffie, (9) Johnny Stokes, (10) Shep Lucas, (11) Wesley Greene, (12) Michael Blount, (13) Chris McElhenney, (14) Evan Ellis, (15) Charlie Henderson, (16) Randy Boyd, (17) Wiley Williams, (18) Doug Sanchagrin, (19) Shannon Lee, (20) Chris Ragan, (21) Tody Ratcliff, (22) Cliff Williams (23) Chris Noah, (24) Larry Harrod. Fast qualifier (among 38 cars): Williams, 13.837 seconds. Consolation race winners: Turner, Brindle, Lucas. Consolation winner: Sanchagrin. Provisional starters: Henderson, Lee.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728