Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tyler County Speedway

Pegher's miscue lifts Blair to Tyler County victory

April 19, 2010, 8:51 am
From series reports
Max Blair (111) topped Mike Pegher Jr. (1c). (Frank Wilson)
Max Blair (111) topped Mike Pegher Jr. (1c). (Frank Wilson)

MIDDLEBOURNE, W.Va. (April 17) — Mike Pegher Jr. of Wexford, Pa., wrestled the lead from Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., with five laps remaining at Tyler County Speedway, but he handed Blair the victory by mistakenly slowing on the white-flag lap, thinking the race was over. Blair zipped past to collect a $1,500 victory on the Fastrak's Northeast and Mid-Ohio Valley tours.

"I've never won one this way before," said the shocked 20-year-old Blair in victory lane, "but I'd rather be lucky than good any day."

Pegher picked up speed again in time to finish second, holding off Mike Blose of Dayton, Pa. Freddie Carpenter of nearby Parkersburg, W.Va., crossed the line fourth, but he was disqualified for failing to report to postrace tech inspection. That moved Kyle Thomas to fourth and David Scott, who led the first six laps, rounded out the top five at the quarter-mile oval.

Blair took over from Scott on the seventh lap and stayed in command until Pegher fought his way past on the 20th lap.

The event, on the undercard of Paul Wilmoth Jr.'s UFO Racing Championship Series victory, drew a Fastrak Northeast-record 53 entries.

Notes: Blair's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Specialty Products, 4 Your Car Connection, Moody & Son Welding and Bossard's Sales & Service. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature: Joel Prosser, Nick Dohm, Steve Wilmoth, Burch Lambert and John Watson. ... Fastrak Northeast and Mid-Ohio Valley competitors return to Tyler County on May 1.

Fastrak @ Tyler County: (1) Max Blair, (2) Mike Pegher Jr., (3) Mike Blose, (4) Kyle Thomas, (5) David Scott, (6) Ricky Meglaye, (7) Shane Hitt, (8) Joe Loudin, (9) Kris Southern, (10) Chad Green, (11) Troy Shields, (12) Steve Adkins Jr., (13) Dan Karalagas, (14) Dwayne Pond, (15) Gary Knollinger, (16) Dave Airgood Jr., (17) Josh Double, (18) Rick Strickler, (19) Josh Holtgraver, (20) Danny Thomas, (21) Daniel Hill, (22) Dan Angelicchio, (23) Aaron Barley. Disqualified: Freddie Carpenter. Heat race winners (among 53 cars): Green, Thomas, Pegher, Knollinger, Scott, Airgood. Consolation winners: Adkins, Hill, Loudin.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728