Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway

Diemel dominates Fastrak event at Oshkosh

June 8, 2009, 12:56 pm
From track and correspondent reports
A.J. Diemel heads for victory at Oshkosh. (Shawn Fredenberg)
A.J. Diemel heads for victory at Oshkosh. (Shawn Fredenberg)

OSHKOSH, Wis. (June 6) — His lap-five pass for the lead called back because of a caution, A.J. Diemel of Navarino, Wis., went ahead on the ensuing restart and led the remainder of the Fastrak Great Lakes touring event at Oshkosh Speedzone Raceway.

Deimel cruised the rest of the way for his second straight series victory while Tom Naeyaert rallied to finish second ahead of Brett Swedberg. Early leader Troy Springborn was fourth and Justin Hirt rounded out the top five in the 30-lap main event.

Notes: Diemel's Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Amsoil and Integra Shocks. ... Diemel had trouble on the way to victory lane because of a hole in the fuel line. A zip tie holding the fuel line broke and the header burned a hole in it. ... Next up for Fastrak Great Lakes competitors is a June 21 event at Eagle Valley Speedway in Jim Falls, Wis.

Fastrak Great Lakes @ Oshkosh: (1) A.J. Diemel, (2) Tom Naeyaert, (3) Brett Swedberg, (4) Troy Springborn, (5) Justin Hirt, (6) Dan Wanta, (7) Joe Reuter, (8) Scott Lewis, (9) M.J. McBride, (10) Jeff Curtin, (11) Todd Casper, (12) Matt Reitller, (13) Aaron Wickersheim, (14) Dave Fieber, (15) Cody Welch. Heat race winners (among 15 cars): Hirt, Reuter.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728