Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lavonia Speedway

Timms inherits Lavonia win after Davenport DQ

March 22, 2009, 2:46 pm
From track and series reports
Larry Timms drove a Bobby Kay-owned car at Lavonia. (southboundracing.com)
Larry Timms drove a Bobby Kay-owned car at Lavonia. (southboundracing.com)

LAVONIA, Ga. (March 21) — Larry Timms of Hodges, S.C., was elevated to the winning position in the Crate Late Model portion of Lavonia Speedway's Late Model Mania after apparent winner Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga., failed postrace inspection. Timms, who drove the Bobby Kay-owned Kar House Aluminum Radiators-sponsored No. 54, earned $3,000 for the victory sanctioned by Fastrak's Southern Region.

Davenport overtook leader Lee Cooper of Greer, S.C, midway through the 50-lapper and took the checkered flag first, but he was later stripped. Moving up to second was Cooper with Chris Steele of Rock Hill, S.C., third and hometown driver Carey Craft fourth.

Fastrak @ Lavonia: (1) Larry Timms, (2) Lee Cooper, (3) Chris Steele, (4) Carey Craft, (5) Kenny Peeples Jr., (6) David McCoy, (7) Ron Parker, (8) Brandon Overton, (9) Donald Bradsher, (10) Chris Cantrell, (11) Owen Osteen, (12) David Smith, (13) Ross Bailes, (14) Ty Lowe, (15) Greg Pilgrim, (16) Gene Nasworthy, (17) Walker Arthur, (18) Michael Garrett, (19) Royce Bray, (20) Zack Mitchell, (21) Bob Robertson, (22) Grant Jordan, (23) Jimmy Schiltz, (24) Brandon Haley. Disqualified: Jonathan Davenport. Fast qualifier (among 53 cars): Cooper, 17.191 seconds. Consolation race winners: Nasworthy, Cantrell, Schiltz.

Correction: An earlier version of this story reported Davenport as the winner; updated with Timms winning.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728