Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

R.J. outruns Top Tracks foes for Talladega victory

June 29, 2008, 10:41 am
From track reports

EASTABOGA, Ala. (June 28) — Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., grabbed the lead from early race leader Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., and never looked back in winning the Carl Black Top Tracks Challenge Series stop at Talladega Short Track. Johnson earned $2,000 for winning an event that drew 43 Late Models to the third-mile oval. Johnson set a blistering pace in a 35-lap event slowed only but a lap-two caution for Blake Stewart's spin.

Tim Busha hung on for second spot with Cory Korreckt third. Adam Martin, who is leading Talladega's weekly NeSmith points for Crate Late Models, was fourth with Jimmy Elkins Jr. rounding out the top five. Todd Morrow of Old Fort, Tenn., the series points leader and winner of the season's first two events, rallied from 13th to finish sixth.

Notes: Talladega takes a break Fourth of July weekend before returning for a July 11 event. ... Chris Mullinax won the night's Super Late Model feature over Terry Smith and Dustin Stewart won the night's Sportsman feature. ...� Among drivers failing to qualifying for the Top Tracks feature lineup: Jerry Goodwin, Rex Richey, Kenny Gaither and Carlton Freeman. ... Landson Sims qualified for the race but wasn't able to start; Bob Gibby replaced him. ... Top Tracks cars are scheduled to run June 29 at Rome (Ga.) Speedway.

Top Tracks @ Talladega: (1) Ronnie Johnson, (2) Tim Busha, (3) Cory Korreckt, (4) Adam Martin, (5) Jimmy Elkins Jr., (6) Todd Morrow, (7) Curtis Cline, (8) Logan Yates, (9) Bobby Mayse, (10) Todd Hurst, (11) Brian Ponder, (12) Jason Wilson, (13) Mike Head, (14) J.J. Nye, (15) Lee Burdett, (16) Jeff Smith, (17) Red Farmer, (18) Tyler Hurst, (19) Chad Pearson, (20) Blake Stewart, (21) Bryan Jackson, (22) Dillon Crim, (23) Alan Brewer, (24) Adam Gauldin, (25) Bob Gibby.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728