Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

North Georgia Speedway

Page pockets $5,000 in Big Crate Showdown

October 13, 2013, 7:51 am
From track reports
Michael Page heads for victory at North Georgia. (binghamfreelance.com)
Michael Page heads for victory at North Georgia. (binghamfreelance.com)

CHATSWORTH, Ga. (Oct. 12) — Polesitter Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., came out on top Saturday at North Georgia Speedway for a $5,000 victory in the unsanctioned Big Crate Showdown. The 30-year-old Page, driving the Rick Brady-owned No. 47x, held off Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., for the 60-lap victory. | Slideshow

The third-starting Cook turned up the heat on Page amid traffic late in the race but settled for second in the special event for Late Models with crate engines. Jimmy Elliott of Cleveland, Tenn., who started outside the front row, was third after swapping the lead with Page in the early laps. Tod Hernandez of Chattanooga, Tenn., rallied from his 13th starting spot to fourth for hard charger honors and Walker Arthur of Forest, Va., rounded out the top five finishers.

The feature was slowed by a single caution for Kevin Burke's lap-31 spin.

Notes: Page drove a GRT Race Car sponsored by T&T Trucking, Premier Transportation and McKenzie Auto Parts. ... Page notched his third victory of the season and first since spring. ... Page, a two-time champion at Dixie and Rome Speedways, usually drives his family-owned No. 18x, but he’s spent late-season events in cars owned by Rick Brady, Lamar Haygood and Buster Goss. ... Track conditions forced a two-hour delay and the feature started at 1:30 a.m. ... Tod Hernandez, who won the Limited Late Model feature, earned $50 for his 13th-to-fourth run.

Big Crate Showdown: (1) Michael Page, (2) Ray Cook, (3) Jimmy Elliott, (4) Tod Hernandez, (5) Walker Arthur, (6) Tanner Works, (7) Kenny Kizzar, (8) Mitchell Stanley, (9) Brad Coffey, (10) Jamie Oliver, (11) Joe Pickelsimer, (12) Colby Kilgore, (13) Allen Green, (14) Greg Husky, (15) Jason Jones, (16) Chuck Page, (17) Jason Deal, (18) Craig Reece, (19) T.J. Britton, (20) Deke Waters, (21) Kevin Burke, (22) Anthony Rymer. Fast qualifier (among 31 cars): Page, 14.176 seconds. Heat race winners: Kizzar, Arthur. Consolation winner: Burke.

Correction: Fixes preliminary race winners; adds detail.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728