Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1135
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dirt Track at Charlotte

Dillon matches older brother with Lowe's victory

May 27, 2008, 1:25 pm
From track reports
Ty Lowe celebrates in victory lane. (George
Ty Lowe celebrates in victory lane. (George "Big Mack" Missita)

CONCORD, N.C. (May 23) — Following in his older brother's tire tracks, Ty Dillon, the 16-year-old grandson of NASCAR team owner Richard Childress, drove to a $2,000 Fastrak Racing Series victory the Dirt Track @ Lowe's Motor Speedway. Dillon earned $2,000 for the 25-lap victory on the undercard of the World of Outlaws sprint cars. Dillon's brother, Austin, drove a black No. 3 Crate Late Model to victory in the same event a year ago while Ty wheeled a blue No. 2 machine into the winner's circle this year. | Slideshow

Dillon started ninth and took command when R.J. Otto spun out of the lead on lap eight. Once in front, Dillon was never seriously challenged as veteran Dennis "Rambo" Franklin tried to chase him down. Franklin settled for second with Kenny Peeples third. Otto recovered to claim fourth-place money with Timbo Mangum rounding out the top five.

Fastrak @ Lowe's: (1) Ty Dillon, (2) Dennis Franklin, (3) Kenny Peeples, (4) R.J. Otto, (5) Timbo Mangum, (6) Ray Dockery, (7) Chris Steele, (8) Ty Lowe, (9) Robbie Stevens, (10) Chad Pearson, (11) John Llewellyn, (12) Larry Parris, (13) Donald Bradsher, (14) Brandy Baker, (15) Ryan Gifford, (16) Luke Laney, (17) Andy Blackwood, (18) Ross Bailes, (19) Jeff Cooke, (20) Nick Walker, (21) Brad Hall, (22) Steve Jones, (23) Justin Hirt, (24) Seth Wimpey. Heat race winners: Wimpey, Blackwood, Otto, Pearson. Consolation winners: Franklin, Hirt.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728