Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Expo Speedway

King's first RUSH victory comes at Expo

July 16, 2013, 4:36 pm
From series reports

CORTLAND, Pa. (July 14) — Russ King of Bristolville, Ohio, claimed Sunday’s Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC RUSH Dirt Late Model Series event at Expo Speedway, earning $2,000 for his first victory on the first-year Crate Late Model series. The victory came in round four of RUSH’s five-race Cross the Borders Speedweek.

King traded the lead early on with Thursday's McKean County Raceway Speedweek winner, Max Blair of Centerville, Pa., then held off a hard charge by teenage racer and Speedweek point leader Ryan Montgomery of Fairmont, W.Va., to become the eighth different Sweeney Tour winner in 10 races this season.

"The car was just awesome," said King, whose victory was his second in three years at the Fair race and came in his first night out in Bob Diver's No. 23 race car. "Every time we come here our cars seem to be pretty good. I love to go fast and the track moved around. I was surprised Max passed me on the outside. I didn't think that could be done so we had to get aggressive on some of those restarts.

“Sometimes it's better to be in second than in the lead, but it worked out tonight. It's awesome to win here- I just live a couple miles down the road. I have to thank Bob Diver for letting me run this thing and everyone that helps out."

Montgomery settled for second with Blair third. Mike Pegher Jr. of Wexford, Pa., and Rick Singleton of Huntingdon, Pa., rounded out the race’s top five finishers.

RUSH @ Expo: (1) Russ King, (2) Ryan Montgomery, (3) Max Blair, (4) Mike Pegher Jr., (5) Rick Singleton, (6) Dennis Lunger, Jr., (7) Chad Ruhlman, (8) Matt Latta, (9) Joe Martin, (10) Jamie Wrightsman, (11) Matt Glanden, (12) Cody Dawson, (13) Colton Flinner, (14) Brad Blackshear, (15) Eric Wilson, (16) Nico Dabecco. Heat winners: King, Wilson. Dash winner: King.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728