Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Greenville Speedway

J-Mac scores NeSmith sweep at Greenville

July 14, 2013, 4:00 pm
By Roby Helm
NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series

GREENVILLE, Miss. (July 13) — Justin McRee of Cottondale, Ala., swept the third annual Rumble on the Gumbo Nationals at Greenville Speedway on Saturday for his second straight victory on the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series.

Also a winner Friday night at Greenville, McRee started fourth Saturday and took the lead on lap 14 from polesitter and fast qualifier Johnny Stokes of Columbus, Miss. McRee then checked out, winning the caution-free 50-lapper by more than six seconds over Stokes.

“I just love this racetrack because last night it was slick and we could run the top, and tonight it was tacky and hammer down where we could use the bottom of the track,” McRee said. “I want to thank Wesley Washington and James Clolinger for giving us a great track to race on last night and again tonight. I just wish this place was a little closer to home.”

It was an extra special victory for McRee with teammate Mickey Trosclair of Luling, La., taking the third spot in another High Roller Race Car. Tait Davenport of Benton, Ky., was fourth and Evan Ellis of Plantersville, Miss., rounded out the top five.

Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, Tenn., was seventh, closing within two points of series points leader Ronny Lee Hollingsworth of Northport, Ala. Hollingsworth, who finished 13th, has 818 points and Johnson has 816 in the battle for the $20,000 title.

Tennessee hosts the next two NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series races July 26 at Tennessee National Raceway in Hohenwald, Tenn., and July 27 at Clayhill Motorsports Park in Atwood, Tenn.

Rumble on the Gumbo Nationals: (1) Justin McRee, (2) Johnny Stokes, (3) Mickey Trosclair, (4) Tait Davenport, (5) Evan Ellis, (6) Mike Palasini Jr., (7) Ronnie Johnson, (8) Josh Adkins, (9) Duke Palasini, (10) Brent Barrett, (11) Todd Morrow, (12) Matthew Turner, (13) Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, (14) Bobby Jordan, (15) Mike Boland, (16) Shannon Lee, (17) Kyle Bronson, (18) Michael Blount, (19) Ryan Colby, (20) John Polasini, (21) David Gentry, (22) Greg Fore, (23) Marcus Minga, (24) Jeremy Shaw. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Stokes, 15.310 seconds. Consolation race winners: Barrett, Morrow. Provisional starter: Lee.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728