Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Bubba Raceway Park

Whitener snags NeSmith pole at Ocala

December 1, 2012, 8:18 am
By Roby Helm
NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series

OCALA, Fla. (Nov. 30) — Mark Whitener of Middleburg, Fla., earned the pole position for Saturday eighth annual Chevrolet Performance World Championship Race for the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series at Bubba Raceway Park. The 100-lapper pays $10,000-to-win for Crate Late Models.

In Friday night preliminary action, three Florida drivers and four Florida cars won the four 15-lap heat races to take the top four starting spots for Saturday night’s big show. The four preliminary races were highlighted by three and four-wide racing.

Whitener, the 2012 track champion, grabbed fast time honors and then won the first 15-lap heat race in dominating fashion to earn the inside front row starting spot.

Kyle Bronson of Tampa, Fla., was the second quick qualifier and won the second 15-lap heat race on Friday night in the Brandon Ford Warrior to earn the outside front row starting spot.

Hometown driver Ivedent Lloyd Jr. won the third heat race and will start on the inside of row two for Saturday night’s big show.

The 2010 race winner, Doug Horton of Bruceton Mills, W.Va., drove the Tampa, Fla.-based and Ken Nosbisch-owned Mainland Transport Warrior to victory in the fourth heat and will start the Saturday night main event from the outside of row two.

In Friday’s time trials, Whitener topped the 45-car field with a lap around the 3/8-mile clay oval in 15.477 seconds.

Notes: Series point leader Matthew Turner of Dawsonville, Ga., struggled in his heat race and will start fourth in a consolation race. He has a 16-point lead on two-time series champ David Gentry, who is locked into the main event. ... Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regular Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., who starts 10th in the mina event, drove a Jim Beeman-owned car. ... Saturday’s action is scheduled to start with 7 p.m. hot laps in Ocala. For more details, visit bubbaracewaypark.com.

Saturday’s feature lineup

Row 1: Mark Whitener, Kyle Bronson
Row 2: Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Doug Horton
Row 3: Greg Martin, Jason Fitzgerald
Row 4: Dennis Franklin, Mack McCarter
Row 5: Keith Nosbisch, Don O’Neal
Row 6: Justin McRee, Ryan Montgomery
Row 7: David Gentry, Chris Cantrell
Row 8: Chris Wilson, David Smith
Row 9: Consolation transferees
Row 10: Consolation transferees
Row 11: Consolation transferees

(Provisionals to be added)

Saturday’s consolation races

First consy (20 laps; top three transfer)
Row 1: Ronnie Johnson, Walker Arthur
Row 2: Austin Kirkpatrick, Rodgerick Dykes
Row 3: Stacy Roberts, Larry Harrod
Row 4: Carter Stokes, Shannon Lee
Row 5: Dalton Myers, Chris Ferguson
Row 6: Shan Smith, Todd Morrow
Row 7: Rodney Wing, John Gardner Jr.
Second consy (20 laps; top three transfer)
Row 1: Michael Blount, Joey Coulter
Row 2: Jeff Mathews, Matthew Turner
Row 3: Ronnie Cooper, Bob Gardner
Row 4: Brent Barrett, Josh Adkins
Row 5: Tony Lawson, Steven Roberts
Row 6: Johnny Stokes, Chase Edge
Row 7: Brandon Overton, Cody Kierre
Row 8: John Garvin Jr.
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728