Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Dirt Track at Charlotte

Overton grabs NDRA victory at Charlotte

October 11, 2012, 9:02 am
From track and team reports
James Plemmons climbs from a fiery crash; he wasn't hurt. (Gary Laster)
James Plemmons climbs from a fiery crash; he wasn't hurt. (Gary Laster)

CONCORD, N.C. (Oct. 10) — Third-starting Brandon Overton of Appleton, Ga., earned $2,000 Wednesday at the Dirt Track at Charlotte with a victory in the NDRA-sanctioned Crate Late Model portion of the Circle K Late Model Showdown

Overton overtook polesitter Chris Ferguson of Mount Holly, N.C., on the 18th lap, then held off a hard-charging Dennis “Rambo” Franklin of Gaffney, S.C., in the final laps for his first victory at the 4/10-mile Charlotte oval.

Franklin, a consolation race winner who started 12th, settled for second with David Smith of Inman, S.C., in third. Ferguson limped home in fifth with a broken shock in a race slowed by six cautions.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular David Gilliland of Riverside, Calif., finished fifth.

Notes: Brandon Overton’s No. 76 is sponsored by Budweiser. ... James Plemmons crashed in hot laps in turn four and fire enveloped his car’s engine compartment, but he climbed out without injury. ... Among other drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Michael Brown, Bryan Nance, Greg Barker, Matthew Nance, Gib Gibbons, Frank Wilson Jr. and Dillon Brown.

Circle K Late Model Showdown: (1) Brandon Overton, (2) Dennis Franklin, (3) David Smith, (4) David Gilliland, (5) Chris Ferguson, (6) Timbo Mangum, (7) Donnie Austin, (8) Corey Gordon, (9) Justin Hudspeth, (10) Jonathan Edwards, (11) Adam Yarbrough, (12) Daniel Tucker, (13) Anthony Sanders, (14) Alex Krohn, (15) Jay Sessoms, (16) Jeff Smith, (17) Greg Clark, (18) Dan Breuer, (19) Jimmy Schiltz, (20) Ryan Atkins, (21) Brent Glastetter, (22) Ben Watkins, (23) Ross Bailes, (24) Matt Long.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728