Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1191
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Brighton Speedway

Meyers earns $5,000 for Great Crate Race victory

September 10, 2012, 7:08 am
From track reports

BRIGHTON, Ontario (Sept. 9) — Big Apple driver Chuck Meyers captured Sunday’s Great Crate Race at Brighton Speedway, earning $5,000 in the Go Nuclear Late Model Challenge Series event delayed a day by rain.

The fifth-starting Meyers took the checkers ahead of Corey Earl of Picton, Ontario. The son-and-father combo of Jorden Peters and Darren Peters of Fort Erie, Ontario, finished third and fourth while Steve Baldwin of Trenton, Ontario, rounded out the top five finishers. | Slideshow

Earl took off for the early lead over Dale Caswell of West Munroe, N.Y., and led the first seven circuits until Caswell took advantage of lapped traffic to wrestle away the top spot.

Caswell led the following 41 laps until fading tires allowed the field to close in. Myers made his way the 11P of Jordan Peters, Earl and Caswell to take the lead on lap 48.

Earl was able to stick with Myers for restarts on lap 54 and 57, but Myers continued to be strong late in the race while Peters pressured Earl for second.

Myers pulled away to the finish to score his first-ever feature victory at Brighton Speedway in only his second start of the season.

"I would have never believed after the (preliminary races) how good this track came in,” Myers said. “It rubber'd up and was real fast for most of this race.

“We fell way back early on and I thought we were going to be in trouble but this Excel Tower Service Rocket came in and we were on rails.”

Great Crate Race: (1) Chuck Meyers, (2) Corey Earl, (3) Jorden Peters, (4) Darren Peters, (5) Steve Baldwin, (6) Dale Caswell, (7) Charlie Sandercock, (8) Adam Turner, (9) Caley Weese, (10) Adam Nayler, (11) Mat Vanderlinden, (12) Terry Hunt, (13) Michael Trapp, (14) Dean Ferri, (15) Robert Mason, (16) Kyle Sopaz, (17) A.J. Kingsley, (18) Greg Peake, (19) Tim Sears Jr., (20) Phil Potts, (21) Greg Belyea, (22) Mark Rayner, (23) Rick Miller, (24) Shayne Tenace, (25) Mike McCrory. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Meyers, Sears, Earl, Miller.

Correction: Fixes spelling of Corey Earl's name.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728