Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Willamette Speedway

Schram races to DAA victory at Willamette

July 16, 2012, 9:19 am
By Ben Deatherage
Willamette Speedway

LEBANON, Ore. (July 15) — Jerry Schram of Vancouver, Wa., took the lead on an early restart in Saturday’s 50-lap feature at Willamette Speedway and earned $1,000 for his second DAA Northwest Extreme Late Model Series presented by Sherwin-Williams Automotive Finishes victory of the season.

Schram, who became the Crate Late Model tour’s first repeat winner this year, topped hometown driver Jason Wines at the finish. Two-time defending series champion Greg Walters of Banks, Org was third with hometown driver Tim Goodwin and Bob Trout, also of banks, rounding out the top five finishers.

The feature started off with a nasty incident involving a handful of cars in turn four. Trout led the early portions of the race, but the race’s first caution with five laps complete allowed Schram to make the winning pass on the ensuing restart.

Both Walters and Wines got close to Schram in lapped traffic late in the race, but Schram held on for the victory.

Notes: Schram’s MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Schram Brothers Excavating and Century III Stable. … The race was the second leg of a doubleheader weekend at Willamette. Trevor Glaser of Tangent, Org., won Friday’s race. … The DAA tour returns to action July 20-21 at Grays Harbor Raceway in Elma, Wa.

DAA @ Willamette: (1) Jerry Schram, (2) Jason Wines, (3) Greg Walters, (4.) Tim Goodwin, (5) Bob Trout, (6) Steve Moore, (7) Scott Winebarger, (8) Jimmy Schram, (9) Jason Johnson, (10) Tanner Wines, (11) Doug Trout, (12) Brandi Bounds, (13) Jack Marontate, (14) Britton Donahoo, (15) Brian Smith, (16) Ariel Biggs, (17) Brad Martin, (18) Terry Ferrando, (19) Collen Winebarger. Fast qualifier: Walters, 15.818 seconds. Heat race winners: Walters, Wines, Donahoo, Winebarger. Dash winner: Walters.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728