Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Pittsburgh Pa. Motor Speedway

Ruhlman collects Fastrak win at PPMS

July 8, 2012, 9:33 pm
From track reports

IMPERIAL, Pa. (July 7) — Chad Ruhlman of Bemus Point, N.Y., captured Saturday’s Sweeney Chevrolet Buick GMC Fastrak Northeast Series feature at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway, earning $1,200 for the Original Pizza Logs Cross the Borders Speedweek event.

Ruhlman picked up his first-ever PPMS victory while Mike Pegher Jr. finished second followed by Will Thomas III, Matt Latta and Chad Wright at the half-mile oval.

Ruhlman started on the pole and grabbed the lead on the start with Tommy Schirnhofer Jr., and Kyle Lukon trailing. On the second lap, Laura Lukon tagged the wall, bringing out the yellow and ending her night.

On the restart Ruhlman was back out front with Ryan Montgomery, Schirnhofer and a charging Max Blair giving chase. Blair moved into third on lap five, second on lap six and took the lead on the eighth lap.

Blair was looking for his third Speedweek win and eighth tour win this season as he started to pull away. But on lap 15, the leading Blair ran into the back of a lapped car, allowing Ruhlman and Montgomery to get by. On lap 19, Blair ran into Nico Dabecco, bringing out the yellow for Dabecco who slowed with a flat. Dabecco pitted and returned, and Blair also pitted giving up fourth, but never returned.

Two more quick cautions slowed the action. On the restart, Josh Holtgraver, Kyle Lukon and Dusty Curry hit the first- and second-turn wall. On the next restart, Beau Glemba, who charged from 21st to third, was spun in turn three, ending his night.

Ruhlman was back out front on the restart with Pegher up to second. Montgomery, who was in the top three most of the event, slowed on lap 21 and headed to the pits. Ruhlman led the rest of the way to grab the checkers.

Original Pizza Logs Cross the Borders Speedweek: (1) Chad Ruhlman, (2) Mike Pegher Jr., (3) Will Thomas III, (4) Matt Latta, (5) Chad Wright, (6) Dan Angelicchio, (7) Davey Johnson, (8) Mike Reft, (9) Max Blair, (10) Kyle Lukon, (11) Shane Weaver, (12) Mark Moats, (13) Bradley Kling, (14) Chuck Medved, (15) Dusty Curry, (16) Butch Lambert, (17) Ryan Montgomery, (18) Nico Dabecco, (19) Beau Glemba, (20) Josh Holtgraver, (21) Tommy Schirnhofer, (22) Steve Beatty, (23) Matt Long, (24) Scott Schempp, (25) Rocky Kugel, (26) Laura Lukon. Heat race winners: Beatty, Reft, Blair, Schirnofer, Pegher. Dash winner: Thomas. Consolation winners: Wright, Glemba. Non-qualifiers’ race winner: Lauren Longbrake.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728